Skip to content
CdnMD

Swift Current - Regional - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine

University of SaskatchewanSwift Current, Saskatchewan

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position per streamListed on each stream; not added up
Length
3 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027virtual

Swift Current, 4 teaching sites5 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in Saskatchewan: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Transition to Practice includes transport medicine shifts at the Regina STARS base and EMS ride-alongs.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Integrated three-year program leading to both CCFP and CCFP (EM) designations.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 3-year integrated Family Medicine-Emergency Medicine program based in Swift Current, Saskatchewan, leading to CCFP and CCFP (EM) designations.
  • Cypress Regional Hospital is the primary teaching site, with some rotations in Prince Albert, Regina, Moose Jaw and Saskatoon.
  • Year 3 includes 26 weeks of longitudinal EM and a 12-week Transition to Practice rotation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family MedicineSwift Current17 weeks
  • ObstetricsPrince Albert/Swift Current6 weeks
  • General SurgerySwift Current4 weeks
  • PsychiatrySwift Current4 weeks
  • PediatricsSwift Current4 weeks
  • Internal medicineSwift Current4 weeks
  • Emergency MedicineSwift Current4 weeks
  • Pediatric EMJPCH4 weeks
  • AnesthesiaSwift Current3 weeks
PGY-2
  • Family MedicineSwift Current20 weeks
  • Rural Family Medicine8 weeks
  • Internal MedicineSwift Current4 weeks
  • Electives4 weeks
  • ObstetricsSwift Current4 weeks
  • ICURegina4 weeks
  • TraumaRegina4 weeks
  • AnesthesiaSwift Current2 weeks
PGY-3
  • Longitudinal EMSwift Current26 weeks
  • Transition to PracticeSwift Current12 weeks
  • Electives4 weeks
  • Critical Care Selective (PICU/CCU)Saskatoon4 weeks
  • Rural FMMeadow/Yorkton/NB4 weeks
  • OrthoMoose Jaw2 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Swift Current, Saskatchewan: 4 teaching sites5 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • Cypress Regional Hospital
  • Associate Family Physicians Clinic
  • Jim Pattison’s Children’s Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • RUH CCU (Saskatoon)

Distributed across a region

  • Cypress Regional Hospital
  • Associate Family Physicians Clinic
  • Jim Pattison’s Children’s Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • RUH CCU (Saskatoon)
  • Regina STARS base (Regina)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 2 of 5; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Cypress Regional Hospital

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Jim Pattison’s Children’s Hospital

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Swift Current

  • People

    16,750residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Swift Current

  • Housing

    5.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Swift Current, Saskatchewan (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.8 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Swift Current, 5.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Swift Current (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

5 Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year
PGY-3
$80,700 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call · frequency “1 night out of 4”
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

After residency

Family doctors in Saskatchewan can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Transitional Payment Model (TPM). Panel sizes set by activity level are used for physicians in their first two years of practice. To join: a minimum of 250 matched patients. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream13 years4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
Competitive stream13 years4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamSwift Current - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine13 years4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026
Competitive streamSwift Current - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine13 years4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Swift Current Integrated Family Medicine-Emergency Medicine (iFM-EM) program provides comprehensive training for residents to become full-scope family physicians capable of practicing in rural and regional settings.
  • Over three years, residents develop competencies in family medicine, emergency medicine, and acute care, preparing them for comprehensive community practice.
Research
Protected research time, annual Resident Scholarship Day, and research mentorship are provided.
Training setting
Regional center of Swift Current, Saskatchewan, with a population of 17,000 and a catchment area of 44,000. Training occurs at Cypress Regional Hospital and Associate Family Physicians Clinic, with additional rotations in Prince Albert, Regina, Moose Jaw, and Saskatoon.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on developing generalist family physicians capable of comprehensive care in rural and underserved communities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Casper Test
  • FMProC Assessment
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference Letters
  • Personal Letter
  • Interview Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Swift Current - Regional

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The Competitive stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35903 (CMG stream), 36276 (Competitive stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamCompetitive stream · change stream