Sussex - Saint John - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine
Dalhousie UniversitySussex, New BrunswickCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 3
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Info session
all 3 info sessions of this programThu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm AST
Interviews
1 date, 25 Jan 2027
Sussex, 6 teaching sites · based in a rural community
What stands out about this program
Integrated FM-EM program developed in 2010, described as the first of its kind in Canada.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Includes preparation for both the CCFP and CCFP (EM) exams within one integrated three-year program.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Weekly emergency department shifts continue throughout core family medicine rotations over all three years.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This three-year program integrates the two-year Family Medicine curriculum with the one-year Enhanced Skills in Emergency Medicine program.
- The home site is Sussex, New Brunswick, with additional rotations in Saint John.
- Residents spend 6 months in the Saint John Regional Hospital Emergency Department and become independent POCUS practitioners in second year.
- A scholarly project is required, with protected time.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- POCUS curriculum
- Rural / remote
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
- PGY-1
- Community Family Medicine10 weeks
- Core Family Medicine8 weeks
- Intro to Family Medicine4 weeks
- Intro to Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- General Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Gynecology4 weeks
- Geriatric Medicine4 weeks
- Palliative Care4 weeks
- Orthopedics4 weeks
- Pediatrics4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
- Anesthesia2 weeks
- PGY-2
- Core Family Medicine16 weeks
- Community Family Medicine12 weeks
- Reproductive Health4 weeks
- General Medicine4 weeks
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Elective(s)4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
- Surgical Skills2 weeks
- PGY-3
- Emergency Medicine16 weeks
- Core Family Medicine8 weeks
- Community Family Medicine8 weeks
- Intensive Care Unit4 weeks
- Cardiac Care Unit4 weeks
- Critical Care Selectives4 weeks
- Trauma Selective4 weeks
- Elective(s)4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
Where you train
Sussex, New Brunswick: 6 teaching sites; based in a rural community. A car is required.
- Sussex Health Centre
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (Saint John)
- St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre (Saint John)
- Charlotte County Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 6; no published record for 5.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Sussex Health Centre
- Inpatient beds
- 25
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
St. Joseph's Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 103
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre
- Inpatient beds
- 103
Charlotte County Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 44
IWK Health Centre
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
About Sussex
People
4,440residents, 2021 Census
Housing
not published for this area
Winter and summer
−7.9 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 25 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 2026
7:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Wed 2 Dec 2026
7:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Sat 9 Jan 2027
12:00–2:00 pm AST
Social · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No work required once handover is completed
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
After residency
Family doctors in New Brunswick can choose among models that pay for visits and enrolled patients: Solo Practice Compensation Model, Group-based Practice Compensation Model (GBP) or Collaborative Care Clinic Compensation Model (CCC). No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. Compare provinces
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 3 years | 1 date, 25 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 3 years | 6 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Dalhousie Family Medicine Integrated Emergency Medicine (iFMEM) program is an innovative three-year training pathway that combines comprehensive family medicine with enhanced emergency medicine skills.
- Located in Saint John and Sussex, New Brunswick, this program prepares family physicians to provide comprehensive patient care and leadership in emergency settings, particularly in rural and community contexts.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time for research activities, emphasizing evidence-based medicine and critical review of medical literature.
- Training setting
- A distributed training environment spanning urban and rural settings in New Brunswick, including Saint John Regional Hospital, Sussex Health Centre, and Miramichi Regional Hospital, with a strong emphasis on community-based medical practice.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, longitudinal skill development, and integration of family medicine and emergency medicine competencies across three years of training.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- FMProC assessment
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Sasha Sealy
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Sussex - Saint John
- Regional
- Regional
Did this page answer your question?