Skip to content
CdnMD

Saint John - Community - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine

Dalhousie UniversitySaint John, New BrunswickCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
3 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm AST

Interviews

1 date, 25 Jan 2027virtual

Saint John, 8 teaching sites · 20 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in New Brunswick: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Program developed in 2010 as the first integrated family medicine–emergency medicine program in Canada.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Includes exam preparation for both the CCFP and CCFP (EM) certification exams.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Weekly emergency department shift during core family medicine, continued across all three years.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This three-year program integrates the two-year Family Medicine program with the one-year Enhanced Skills in Emergency Medicine program.
  • Residents are based in Saint John, New Brunswick, with rural community rotations in the Upper River Valley, 2.5 hours away.
  • Residents spend 6 months over three years in the Saint John Regional Hospital Emergency Department and become independent POCUS practitioners in second year.
  • A scholarly project is required, with protected time.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (20 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Community Family MedicineMiramichi10 weeks
  • Core Family MedicineSaint John8 weeks
  • Intro to Family Medicine4 weeks
  • Intro to Emergency MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital (SJRH) Emergency Department4 weeks
  • General MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Obstetrics/GynecologySaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Geriatric MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital and St. Joseph’s Hospital4 weeks
  • Palliative CareSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • OrthopedicsSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • PediatricsSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
  • AnesthesiaFrederiction2 weeks
PGY-2
  • Core Family MedicineSaint John16 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineUpper River Valley12 weeks
  • Reproductive Health4 weeks
  • General MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Surgical Skills4 weeks
  • Pediatric Emergency MedicineIWK Health Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia4 weeks
  • Emergency MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital (SJRH) Emergency Department4 weeks
  • Elective(s)4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
PGY-3
  • Emergency MedicineSaint John Regional Hospital (SJRH) Emergency Department16 weeks
  • Core Family MedicineSaint John8 weeks
  • Critical Care Selective8 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineUpper River Valley8 weeks
  • Intensive Care UnitSaint John Regional Hospital4 weeks
  • Trauma SelectiveSt. Mike’s or Sunnybrook in Toronto (location TBD)4 weeks
  • Elective(s)4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Saint John, New Brunswick: 8 teaching sites; 20 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • Saint John Regional Hospital
  • St. Joseph’s Hospital
  • Upper River Valley Hospital (rural or distributed site)
  • Miramichi Regional Hospital (Miramichi · rural or distributed site)
  • IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
  • Sussex Health Centre (Sussex)
  • Charlotte County Hospital
  • St. Joseph’s Urgent Care Centre

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 8; no published record for 7.

Hospital facts

8 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Inpatient beds. As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445

St. Joseph’s Hospital

Matched to St. Joseph's Hospital / Hôpital St. Joseph (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
103

Upper River Valley Hospital

Matched to Upper River Valley Hospital / Hôpital du Haut de la Vallée (Carleton County) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
52
Show facts for 5 more sites

Miramichi Regional Hospital

Matched to Miramichi Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Miramichi (Miramichi) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
150

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

Sussex Health Centre

Matched to Sussex Health Centre / Centre de Santé de Sussex (Sussex) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
25

Charlotte County Hospital

Matched to Charlotte County Hospital / Hôpital du Comté de Charlotte (St. Stephen) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
44

St. Joseph’s Urgent Care Centre

Matched to St. Joseph's Hospital / Hôpital St. Joseph (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
103

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Saint John

  • People

    69,895residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Saint John

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Saint John, New Brunswick (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.9 °CJanuary mean17.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Saint John, 15.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Saint John (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

After residency

Family doctors in New Brunswick can choose among models that pay for visits and enrolled patients: Solo Practice Compensation Model, Group-based Practice Compensation Model (GBP) or Collaborative Care Clinic Compensation Model (CCC). No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream23 years1 date, 25 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamSaint John - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine23 years6 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Dalhousie Family Medicine Integrated Emergency Medicine (iFMEM) program in Saint John offers a unique three-year training experience that combines comprehensive family medicine with emergency medicine skills.
  • Residents will train in both urban and rural settings, developing expertise in comprehensive patient care and community leadership in emergency care.
Research
Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time for research activities.
Training setting
Training occurs in Saint John and Miramichi, New Brunswick, with a mix of urban tertiary care hospital and rural community healthcare settings. Residents work in the Saint John Regional Hospital and community practices.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, self-directed learning, and integration of family medicine and emergency medicine skills across three years of training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • FMProC assessment
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sasha Sealy

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator

Write to the officefmresidency@dal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Saint John - Community

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35454 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?