Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Emergency Medicine

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
7 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Wed 20 Jan 2027,time not stated

Interviews

2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027virtual

Winnipeg, 7 teaching sites

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • Dedicated toxicology rotation supported by two clinical toxicologists.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Ties with prehospital care, including provincial air ambulance (Lifeflight) and the STARS rotary program.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Each resident receives $2,000 per year for scholarly activity, conferences, exam fees and some memberships.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year emergency medicine residency in Winnipeg, with training split between the Health Sciences Centre and St. Boniface General Hospital.
  • Residents complete a one-month community emergency rotation and 5 months of pediatric emergency medicine at the Children's Hospital.
  • Residents spend 6 months on an Area of Concentrated Expertise in PGY-5 and must complete at least one scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is recommended

By year

PGY-1
  • Community Emergencyone-month
  • Adult Emergency
  • Trauma Surgery
  • Internal Medicine Wards
  • Anesthesia
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine
PGY-2
  • Adult Emergency
  • Orthopedics
  • Obs/Gyn
  • Emergency Psychiatry/Addictions
  • CCU/Cardiology
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Surgical ICU
  • Internal Medicine Consults
  • Adult/Peds Anesthesia
  • PediatricEmergency Medicine
PGY-3
  • Adult Emergency
  • EMS
  • MSK/Sports Medicine
  • Medical ICU
  • Toxicology
  • Peds ICU
  • Medical Education
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine
PGY-4
  • TTL
  • Adult Emergency
  • Elective
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine
PGY-5
  • ACE6 months
  • Adult Emergency
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 7 teaching sites. A car is recommended.

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • St Boniface General Hospital
  • Health Sciences Centre: Children's Emergency
  • Grace Hospital
  • Victoria Hospital
  • Concordia Hospital
  • Seven Oaks General Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 7 of 7.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre; St Boniface General Hospital; Health Sciences Centre: Children's Emergency; Grace Hospital; Victoria Hospital; Concordia Hospital; Seven Oaks General Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

7 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, St Boniface General Hospital, Health Sciences Centre: Children's Emergency, Grace Hospital, Victoria Hospital, Concordia Hospital, Seven Oaks General Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

  • Wed 20 Jan 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · For all applicants · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

  • Wed 20 Jan 2027

    6:00–8:00 pm CST

    Social · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream75 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream75 years3 dates, 28–30 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description

The University of Manitoba Emergency Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience using Competency Based Medical Education (CBME). The program provides diverse clinical exposure across multiple hospitals in Winnipeg, with a strong focus on academic excellence, clinical skills, and resident wellness.

Research
Residents are required to complete at least one scholarly project, with support from faculty research supervisors and dedicated research curriculum.
Training setting
Urban medical training across multiple tertiary and community hospitals in Winnipeg, including Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface General Hospital, and Children's Hospital, providing diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Emphasizes competency-based learning with progressive skill development, focusing on individual learner needs, frequent formative assessments, and holistic professional development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Electives
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From residents

Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

  • Regina - Emergency MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Regina, SK · 536 km

    3 positions · CMG

  • Thunder Bay, ON · 598 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Saskatoon - Emergency MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 711 km

    5 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 31 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35268 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?