Calgary - Dermatology
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Info session
details info sessions of this programMon 2 Nov 2026,6:00 pm MDTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
1 date, 28 Jan 2027
Calgary, 14 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Cadaver-based dermatologic surgery simulation sessions six times per year.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Option to follow a dedicated pediatric dermatology stream.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Opportunity to work at Siksika and Stoney First Nation reservations and The Alex community health centre.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Calgary Dermatology program is a five-year hospital and community-based residency.
- PGY-1 and PGY-2 include internal medicine or pediatrics training plus dermatology blocks, while PGY-3 to PGY-5 focus on inpatient and outpatient dermatology.
- Residents complete mandatory research rotations, and rural rotations in Lethbridge, Canmore and Okotoks are optional.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Procedural emphasis
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- Internal Medicine3 blocks
- General Dermatology2 blocks
- Infectious Disease
- Adult Rheumatology
- Pediatric Rheumatology
- Medical Genetics
- Adult Emergency
- Pediatric Emergency
- Pediatrics
- Elective
- PGY-2
- General Dermatology2 blocks
- Internal Medicine1 block
- Adult rheumatology1 block
- Pediatric Dermatology
- Research
- Peds Plastic surgery
- Adult Plastic surgery
- Dermatologic Surgery
- Peds Infectious Disease
- Elective
- Medical oncology
- Dermatopathology
Where you train
Calgary, Alberta: 14 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- Richmond Road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Alberta Children's Hospital
- Sheldon Chumir Health Centre
- Alberta Precision Laboratory
- Arthur Child Cancer Center
- Rockyview General Hospital
- Peter Lougheed Centre
- South Health Campus
- The Alex community Health Centre
- Lethbridge (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
- Canmore (Canmore · rural or distributed site)
Show all 14 sitesShow fewer
- Okotoks (Okotoks · rural or distributed site)
- Siksika and Stoney First Nation Reservations (rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 8 of 14; no published record for 6.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Calgary
People
1,306,784residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 28 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
Mon 2 Nov 2026
6:00 pm MDT
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 28 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 29 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Calgary Dermatology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program focused on excellence in clinical medicine, research, and medical education.
- The program offers a highly collegial and supportive environment with a strong emphasis on resident learning, mentorship, and culturally competent care across diverse patient populations.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete mandatory research rotations and are strongly encouraged to pursue research aligned with their career goals, ranging from basic science to clinical trials and epidemiologic studies.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple urban and community sites in Calgary, including Richmond Road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre, Foothills Medical Centre, Alberta Children's Hospital, and Sheldon Chumir Health Centre, with opportunities for rural rotations.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive independence, frequent formative assessments, and milestone-based learning outcomes.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Jori Hardin
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Dermatology elsewhere
Nearest to Calgary
Did this page answer your question?