Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Plastic Surgery

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

1 date, 4 Feb 2027virtual

Ottawa, 9 teaching sites7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Resident aesthetic clinic where residents manage aesthetic patients with significant autonomy; one of three in Canada.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Two months each year in the anatomy dissection lab practising free tissue transfers and surgical exposures.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • A division research assistant is available to support resident projects.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Ottawa Plastic Surgery residency is a 5-year program, with PGY1-2 forming part of the Surgical Foundations Program.
  • Training takes place at Ottawa Hospital campuses, CHEO and community sites, with 2 burn blocks in another city.
  • Residents in second to fifth year are expected to produce a publishable paper each year, with protected time.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-2
  • Burnsa Burn Unit in another city2 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Adult Plastic Surgery (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · Blocks 1-2)
  • Emergency medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Orthopaedic surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • General surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • MOH's (Foundations of Discipline)
  • ICU (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Plastic Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 12-13 blocks)
  • Otolaryngology (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Vascular (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Neurosurgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Oculoplastic Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Oral Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Adult Plastic Surgery (Transition to Practice)
  • elective (4th year · 2 one-month elective blocks)
PGY-2
  • Burnsa Burn Unit in another city2 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Adult Plastic Surgery (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · Blocks 1-2)
  • Emergency medicine (PGY1&2)
  • Orthopaedic surgery (PGY1&2)
  • General surgery (PGY1&2)
  • MOH's (PGY1&2)
  • ICU (PGY1&2)
  • Plastic Surgery (PGY1&2 · 12-13 blocks)
  • Otolaryngology (PGY1&2)
  • Vascular (PGY1&2)
  • Neurosurgery (PGY1&2)
  • Oculoplastic Surgery (PGY1&2)
  • Oral Surgery (PGY1&2)
  • elective (PGY3-5 · 2 one-month elective blocks in the 4th year)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 9 teaching sites7 teaching sites.

  • Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
  • General Campus
  • Riverside (outpatient)
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • Queensway Carleton Hospital
  • Arnprior Regional Health Centre (Arnprior)
  • Almonte General Hospital (Almonte)
  • Ross Tilley Burn Centre & Sunnybrook (Toronto)
  • Private Facilities in both Ottawa and Gatineau (Aesthetic Clinic)
  • Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus, General Campus, Riverside (outpatient) sites
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • Queensway Carleton Hospital
  • Arnprior Regional Health Centre (Arnprior)
  • Almonte General Hospital (Almonte)
  • Toronto - Ross Tilley Burn Centre & Sunnybrook (Toronto)
  • Private Facilities in both Ottawa and Gatineau (Aesthetic Clinic)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 5 of 11; no published record for 6.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus, Riverside (outpatient).

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Queensway Carleton Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
4 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

4 Plastic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years1 date, 4 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 4 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream16 years1 date, 5 Feb 2026
IMG stream16 years2 dates, 23 Feb 2023 – 5 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Plastic Surgery Residency Program provides comprehensive training in plastic surgery, emphasizing a Competence By Design (CBD) framework.
  • The program offers a unique 5-year curriculum that prepares residents to become competent plastic surgeons through progressive learning stages, extensive surgical exposure, and a focus on academic and research development.
Research
Residents are expected to produce a peer-reviewed publication annually, with protected time, financial support, and research design assistance.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban and community hospital sites in Ottawa, including academic medical centers, children's hospitals, and regional health centers.
Teaching approach
Follows the Royal College's Competence By Design (CBD) framework, focusing on progressive skill development through four training stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core of Discipline, and Transition to Practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal Letter
  • Reference Documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Interview Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteInstagramCANPREPPCANPREPPdescribes academic half-dayFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Plastic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Montreal, QC · 166 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Toronto - Plastic SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 352 km

    4 positions · CMG

  • Hamilton - Plastic SurgeryMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 410 km

    CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35720 (CMG stream), 35628 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream