Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Plastic Surgery

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
0–25%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 28 Jan 2027virtual

Montreal, 9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Residents take part in the provincial replant program.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • A dedicated microsurgery lab rotation, plus a microsurgery dry lab open to residents at all times.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Graduates are eligible to sit the American Board of Plastic Surgery exams.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's 5-year plastic surgery program has two years of Surgical Foundations training followed by three dedicated years of plastic surgery.
  • Training happens at Montreal teaching hospitals, including the Montreal General Hospital and Royal Victoria Hospital, as well as community hospital sites.
  • Residents are encouraged to take time for a Master's or PhD, with competitive salary funding available through the Surgeon Scientist Program.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Training language
English and French

By year

PGY-1
  • Plastic Surgery5 blocks
  • General Surgery2 blocks
  • SICU2 blocks
  • Emergency Medicine1 block
  • Neurosurgery1 block
  • Pediatric Surgery1 block
  • Vascular Surgery1 block
  • Bootcamp (Surgical Foundations & Plastic Surgery; Transition to Discipline)First Rotation block (July)
PGY-2
  • Plastic Surgery7 blocks
  • Orthopedic Surgery2 blocks
  • Anesthesiology1 block
  • General Surgery1 block
  • Microsurgery Lab1 block
  • Oral Maxillofacial Surgery (OMFS)1 block
  • Otolaryngology (Head and Neck)1 block
PGY-3
  • Plastic Surgery10 blocks
  • Burn Unit2 blocks
  • Oculoplasty1 block
PGY-4
  • Plastic Surgery12 blocks (includes 2 elective block)
  • Aesthetic Surgery1 block
PGY-5
  • Plastic Surgery11 blocks (includes consolidation block)
  • Aesthetic Surgery2 blocks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 9 teaching sites.

  • Montreal General Hospital
  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • Shriners Hospital for Children
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • St-Mary's Hospital
  • Lasalle Hospital
  • Lachine Hospital
  • Lakeshore Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 4 of 9; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

9 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Montreal General Hospital, Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Lachine Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Montreal General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Show facts for 6 more sites

Shriners Hospital for Children

Matched to Hôpital Shriners pour Enfants (québec) (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 22

Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

St-Mary's Hospital

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de St. Mary (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24

Lasalle Hospital

Matched to Hôpital de Lasalle (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 11,354 · 2026–2027: 11,415
Licensed beds
physical health 110

Lachine Hospital

Matched to Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
Licensed beds
physical health 56

Lakeshore Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général du Lakeshore (Pointe-Claire) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,918 · 2026–2027: 15,905
Licensed beds
physical health 234 · psychiatry 31

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

4 Plastic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream15 years1 date, 28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream16 years1 date, 29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McGill's Plastic Surgery Residency Program offers comprehensive 5-year training in plastic surgery, with two years of Surgical Foundations followed by three dedicated years of plastic surgery training.
  • The program emphasizes academic excellence, research opportunities, and preparing residents to become skilled, evidence-based plastic surgeons.
Research
Extensive research opportunities with competitive salary funding, encouragement to pursue Master's or PhD, and collaborations across basic science research areas.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple academic and community hospitals in Montreal, including Montreal General Hospital, Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, and several community hospital sites.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive skill development, frequent formative assessments, and targeted learning outcomes across different training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV content
  • Research participation
  • Electives
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Reference letters
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Domenick (Dino) Zammit

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeplasticresidency.med@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Plastic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal · 0 km

    2 positions · Regular

    French
  • Sherbrooke - Plastic SurgeryUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 131 km

    2 positions · Regular

    French
  • Ottawa - Plastic SurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 166 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35781 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?