Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Plastic Surgery

McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
Not yet posted on CaRMS
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 18 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Provincial burn program serving the entire province, with PGY2 burn rotation.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Microsurgical skills taught early in a live animal model.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • 1:1 resident-to-faculty ratio in senior years.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • McMaster Plastic Surgery is a 5-year program established in 1978, training at Hamilton Health Sciences sites and St. Joseph's Hospital.
  • Residents rotate through the provincial burn program in their second year and learn microsurgery in a live animal model in PGY3.
  • Residents are expected to prepare a manuscript for a peer-reviewed journal and present at a national meeting.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research project

By year

PGY-1
  • Plastic SurgerySt. Joseph's Healthcare System
PGY-2
  • General Pediatric SurgeryMcMaster University and Hamilton General Hospital
  • Pediatric Plastic SurgeryMcMaster University and Hamilton General Hospital
  • ICUMcMaster University and Hamilton General Hospital
  • BurnsMcMaster University and Hamilton General Hospital
  • OtolaryngologyMcMaster University and Hamilton General Hospital
PGY-5
  • Community
  • cosmetic

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • General Surgery (PGY-1 & 2)
  • Dermatology (PGY-1 & 2)
  • Vascular Surgery (PGY-1 & 2)
  • Perioperative Medicine (PGY-1 & 2)
  • Rehabilitation Medicine (PGY-1 & 2)
  • Anaesthesia (PGY-1 & 2)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.

  • Hamilton General Hospital
  • Juravinski Hospital
  • McMaster University Medical Centre
  • St. Joseph's Hospital
  • Oakville Trafalgar Hospital (Oakville)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 5, MEDITECH at 1, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster University Medical Centre.

St. Joseph's Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Oakville Trafalgar Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record since Nov 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

4 Plastic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years1 date, 18 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG streamPositions not stated5 years1 date, 18 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream36 years1 date, 19 Jan 2026
IMG stream16 years1 date, 19 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McMaster University's 5-year Plastic Surgery Residency Program offers comprehensive training across multiple hospital sites in southwestern Ontario.
  • The program emphasizes evidence-based surgical education, early hands-on learning, and provides residents with extensive exposure to diverse plastic surgery experiences, from trauma and burns to pediatric and reconstructive surgery.
Research
Residents are expected to complete two high-quality research projects, present at annual research day, and are encouraged to prepare three manuscript submissions.
Training setting
Training occurs across four main hospital sites in Hamilton, Ontario, including Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster University Medical Centre, and St. Joseph's Hospital, providing diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing early hands-on surgical exposure, evidence-based learning, and comprehensive skill development through experiential training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • CaRMS curriculum vitae
  • Research experience
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Arianna Dal Cin

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeplasted@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Plastic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

  • Toronto - Plastic SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 59 km

    4 positions · CMG

  • London - Plastic SurgeryWestern University

    London · 116 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Ottawa - Plastic SurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 410 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36015 (CMG stream), 35348 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream