Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream

The IMG stream CaRMS listed in the 2026 match is not in the 2027 list. See Year by year.

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 22–25 Jan 2027MMI or rotating station

Ottawa, 5 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Three dedicated research blocks plus a required journal-ready research project.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Annual anatomy lab half days combined with ultrasound teaching and practice.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency at the University of Ottawa with 2 CMG positions for the 2027 match.
  • Core training is at The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre and Elisabeth Bruyere Health Services, with pediatric rehabilitation at CHEO and cardiac rehabilitation at the Ottawa Heart Institute.
  • Residents must complete a research project, with three blocks dedicated to research.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Physiatry rotations (Transition to discipline · three blocks)
  • CTU medicine (Foundations)
  • neurology (Foundations)
  • rheumatology (Foundations)
  • orthopedics (Foundations)
  • medicine and surgery subspecialties (Foundations)
  • electives (Foundations)
  • inpatient MSK (Core)
  • Spinal Cord Injury (Core)
  • Stroke (Core)
  • ABI (Core)
  • Prosthetics and Orthotics (Core)
  • Pediatric Physiatry (Core)
  • outpatient MSK (Core)
  • EMG (Core)
  • Neuromuscular (Core)
  • Cardiac rehab (Core)
  • Respiratory rehab (Core)
  • research rotations (Core)
  • electives (Core)
  • personalized training experiences (Transition to Practice · 12 months)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 5 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • The Ottawa Hospital - Rehabilitation Centre
  • Elisabeth Bruyere Health Services
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • Ottawa Heart Institute
  • The Ottawa Hospital Civic and General Campuses

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 5; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Ottawa Hospital - Rehabilitation Centre, The Ottawa Hospital Civic and General Campuses.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Ottawa Heart Institute

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
22 and 25 Jan 2027
Format
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 22–25 Jan 2027MMI or rotating station
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamOttawa - Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation15 years2 dates, 30 Jan – 2 Feb 2026
IMG streamOttawa - Physical Medicine & RehabilitationNot offered in 202715 years2 dates, 30 Jan – 2 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (PM&R) residency program offers comprehensive training for aspiring physiatrists across multiple clinical settings.
  • The program emphasizes a well-structured academic curriculum with a strong focus on CanMEDS roles, preparing graduates to become competent and respected physiatrists in various practice settings.
Research
Three dedicated research blocks, with a requirement to complete one research project involving proposal development, ethics review, data collection, and analysis.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple sites in Ottawa, including The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre, Elisabeth Bruyere Health Services, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, and Ottawa Heart Institute, providing diverse clinical exposure.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competence By Design (CBD) approach with four distinct training stages, focusing on Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and CanMEDS 2015 framework milestones.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic standing
  • Interest in PM&R
  • Communication skills
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Teamwork abilities
  • Research potential
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Deanna Quon

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteInstagramXFacebookCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience section, describes callFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35516 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?