Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Pediatrics

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
10 positions
3 positions
Length
4 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
26–50%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

3 dates, 2–4 Feb 2027virtual

1 date, 1 Feb 2027virtual

Ottawa, 6 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Required northern pediatrics rotation at Qikiqtani General Hospital in Iqaluit or Whitehorse General Hospital.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal continuity clinic begins in third year rather than fourth.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Community pediatrics experience at Hôpital Montfort, a francophone academic hospital, for French-comfortable residents.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 4-year pediatrics residency based at CHEO, a tertiary care children's hospital in Ottawa.
  • Residents complete a rural community pediatrics rotation, typically in North Bay, in PGY2 and a one-block northern rotation in Iqaluit or Whitehorse in PGY3.
  • A scholarly project is required, with up to 60 days of protected time spread over 4 years.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Clinical Teaching Unit - Junior Role3 blocks
  • Elective1 Block
  • Orientation/On-boarding
  • Healthy Newborn Care
  • Perinatal Medicine - Junior Role
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Respirology
  • Community Pediatrics
  • General Surgery
  • Haematology/Oncology
PGY-2
  • Selective - resident chooses from a list of experiences2.5 Blocks
  • PICU - Junior Role2 blocks
  • Clinical Teaching Unit - Senior Role1 Block
  • Night Float1/2 Block
  • Perinatal Medicine - Senior Role1 Block
  • NICU1 Block
  • Orthopedics1/2 Block
  • Vascular Access1/2 Block
  • Elective1 Block
  • Adolescent Medicine
  • Mental Health
  • Rural Community Pediatricstypically in North Bay, Ontario
PGY-3
  • Selective - resident chooses from a list of experiences3 Blocks
  • Clinical Teaching Unit - Senior Role2 Blocks
  • Night Float1 Block, divided in 2 halves
  • Neurology1 Block
  • Cardiology1 Block
  • Endocrinology1 Block
  • NICU or PICU1 Block
  • Emergency Medicine1 Block
  • Northern Community PediatricsIqaluit or Whitehorse1 Block
  • Elective1 Block
  • Continuity Clinica longitudinal experience
PGY-4
  • Elective3 Blocks
  • Ambulatory Clinics - resident chooses their own mix of subspecialty clinics1.5 Blocks
  • Selective - resident chooses from a list of experiences1 Block
  • Junior Attending1 Block
  • Transitional Acute Care Team or Rapid Respond Team1 Block
  • Complex Care1 Block
  • NICU - level 2 or 31 Block
  • Developmental Pediatrics1 Block
  • Community Pediatrics1 Block
  • Child and Youth Protection1 Block
  • Continuity Clinica longitudinal experience

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 6 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • The Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • The Ottawa Hospital General Campus
  • Hôpital Montfort
  • North Bay Regional Health Centre (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Qikiqtani General Hospital (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)
  • Whitehorse General Hospital (Whitehorse · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 6, MEDITECH at 1; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

The Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

The Ottawa Hospital General Campus

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Hôpital Montfort

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 1 more sites

North Bay Regional Health Centre

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
2, 3 and 4 Feb 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
1 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

8 Pediatrics info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream104 years3 dates, 2–4 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream34 years1 date, 1 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream105 years3 dates, 27–29 Jan 2026
IMG stream35 years1 date, 26 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Pediatrics Residency Program offers comprehensive training at the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), providing residents with a solid foundation in general pediatrics and diverse clinical experiences.
  • The program emphasizes a balanced approach between supervised clinical practice and emerging independence, with exposure to various pediatric subspecialties and unique opportunities in rural and remote settings.
Research
Residents are supported in completing scholarly projects with mentorship from CHEO Research Institute, with up to 60 days of protected research time over 4 years.
Training setting
Urban academic pediatric hospital with multiple training sites including CHEO, Ottawa Hospital General Campus, Hôpital Montfort, North Bay Regional Health Centre, and remote sites in Nunavut and Yukon.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on progressive independence, providing residents with a comprehensive foundation in pediatrics while allowing personalized learning paths and career goal alignment.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Electives experience
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
  • Scholarly activity assessment

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Administrator, Interim Assistant Program Driector

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Pediatrics elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Kingston - PediatricsQueen’s University

    Kingston · 146 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Montreal - PediatricsMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 166 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • North Bay - PediatricsNOSM University

    North Bay · 308 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36397 (CMG stream), 35530 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream