Skip to content
CdnMD

North Bay - Pediatrics

NOSM UniversityNorth Bay, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
4 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 25–27 Jan 2027virtual

North Bay, 8 teaching sites · required rural rotation

A car is required

What stands out about this program

  • Core social pediatrics rotation in Sioux Lookout, a remote northern community.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Much of training is in northern general consulting pediatrics, far from subspecialty support, combined with tertiary rotations at CHEO.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • A mandatory advocacy project within a social pediatrics curriculum.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • This four-year pediatrics residency trains residents at northern Ontario sites, including North Bay, with subspecialty and acute care rotations at CHEO in Ottawa.
  • A Sioux Lookout rotation is part of the core program, and residents must complete a scholarly project.
  • Residents must provide their own vehicles, and travel and housing support are offered for core rotations away from the home base.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Early independence
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Elective1 Block
  • Northern Consulting PediatricsHomebase/northern sites
  • Subspecialty (1)CHEO/Ottawa site
  • Pediatrics Wards JRCHEO/Ottawa site
  • PerinatesCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine JRCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Pediatric General SurgeryCHEO/Ottawa site
PGY-2
  • Elective1 Block
  • Northern Consulting PediatricsHomebase/northern sites
  • Social PediatricsSioux Lookout
  • Subspecialty (3)CHEO/Ottawa site
  • PICUCHEO/Ottawa site
  • PerinatesCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Surgical Subspecialty Outpatient/ResearchCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Night FloatCHEO/Ottawa site
PGY-3
  • Elective1 Block
  • Northern Consulting PediatricsHomebase/northern sites
  • Child MaltreatmentHomebase/northern sites
  • SubspecialtyCHEO/Ottawa site
  • PICUCHEO/Ottawa site
  • NICUCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Pediatrics Wards SRCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine SRCHEO/Ottawa site
  • ResearchCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Night FloatCHEO/Ottawa site
PGY-4
  • Northern Consulting PediatricsHomebase/northern sites6 Blocks
  • Elective4 Blocks
  • SubspecialtyCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Night Float SRCHEO/Ottawa site
  • PICUCHEO/Ottawa site
  • NICUCHEO/Ottawa site

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

North Bay, Ontario: 8 teaching sites; required rural rotation. A car is required.

  • North Bay Regional Health Centre
  • One Kids Place
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) (Thunder Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Health Sciences North (HSN) (Sudbury · rural or distributed site)
  • Sault Area Hospital (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
  • Group Health Centre (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
  • Sioux Lookout (Sioux Lookout · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 8, MEDITECH at 5; no published record for 2.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences North (HSN); Sioux Lookout.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026. At North Bay Regional Health Centre, Sault Area Hospital.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Health Sciences North (HSN)

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 1 more sites

Sioux Lookout

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About North Bay

  • People

    52,662residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of North Bay

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, North Bay, Ontario (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −12.3 °CJanuary mean19.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, North Bay, 8.7 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about North Bay (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26 and 27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

8 Pediatrics info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream14 years3 dates, 25–27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description

The NOSM University Pediatrics program offers a unique four-year residency that provides extensive training opportunities in northern urban centers and world-class subspecialty rotations at CHEO. Residents develop comprehensive clinical skills through hands-on learning across diverse settings, preparing them for general pediatric practice or subspecialty training.

Research
Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project with support from NOSM University and Ottawa resources, with opportunities for practical research meaningful to local communities.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple northern Ontario sites (North Bay, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie) and Ottawa's Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), providing diverse clinical experiences in urban, rural, and tertiary care settings.
Teaching approach
Learner-centered, self-directed training with a focus on progressive independence, hands-on clinical experiences, and developing comprehensive pediatric skills across varied clinical contexts.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV/Academic background
  • Electives
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Gautam Kumar

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Pediatrics elsewhere

Nearest to North Bay

  • Sudbury - PediatricsNOSM University

    Sudbury · 119 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Toronto - PediatricsUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 295 km

    20 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities - PediatricsToronto Metropolitan University

    Peel & Surrounding Communities · 303 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36516 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?