Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Pediatrics

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
Length
4 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 27 Jan – 2 Feb 2027virtual

Montreal, 11 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Bilingual training: residents must care for patients in both French and English.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Annual one-month rotations in regional centres such as Gatineau and Val-d'Or, with housing provided.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Training meets American Board of Pediatrics certification requirements as well as Canadian ones.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's four-year pediatrics residency is based at a children's hospital with all pediatric medical and surgical subspecialties on site.
  • Residents spend one month per year in regional centres such as Gatineau and Val-d'Or, with housing and transportation support.
  • Fluency in English and French is required, and a research/scholarly project is mandatory.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Indigenous health
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
English and French
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-2
  • Neonatology- Clinical Teaching Unit senior rotation4 weeks
  • Senior Ward Nightfloat4 weeks
  • Emergency Medicine4 weeks
  • Rural or Community Pediatrics4 weeks
  • Neonatology level IIIJewish General Hospital4-weeks
  • Neonatology Night Float1-week
  • Pediatric Critical Care Medicine4-weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Inpatient Wards (Transition to Discipline-TTD · 4-weeks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline-TTD · 4 weeks)
  • Medical Day Hospital (Transition to Discipline-TTD · 4 weeks)
  • Newborn Medicine (Transition to Discipline-TTD · 2 weeks)
  • Junior Ward Night Float (Transition to Discipline-TTD · 2 weeks)
  • Rural or Ambulatory Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline-TTD · 4 weeks)
  • Subspecialty elective (Transition to Discipline-TTD · 4 weeks)
  • Inpatient Wards (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 8 weeks)
  • Neonatology- Clinical Teaching Unit Junior rotation (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Critical Care Medicine (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 4 weeks)
  • Complex Care Services (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 2 weeks)
  • Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 2 weeks)
  • Rural or Ambulatory Pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 4 weeks if not done in TTD)
  • Junior Ward Nightfloat (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 2-4 weeks depending on if done in TTD)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 4 weeks if not done in TTD)
  • Newborn Medicine (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 2 weeks if not done in TTD)
  • Medical Day Hospital (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 4 weeks if not done in TTD)
  • Subspecialty electives (Foundations of Discipline- FoD · 8 weeks)
  • Inpatient Senior Wards (Core of Discipline- CoD (PGY-3/early PGY-4) · 12-weeks)
  • Neonatology low acuity rotation (Core of Discipline- CoD (PGY-3/early PGY-4) · 4-weeks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline- CoD (PGY-3/early PGY-4) · 4-weeks)
  • Rural or Community Pediatrics (Core of Discipline- CoD (PGY-3/early PGY-4) · 4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Critical Care/Neonatology Night Float (Core of Discipline- CoD (PGY-3/early PGY-4) · 2-weeks)
  • Adolescent Medicine (Core of Discipline- CoD (PGY-2 or PGY-3) · 4-weeks)
  • Developmental Pediatrics (Core of Discipline- CoD (PGY-2 or PGY-3) · 4-weeks)
  • Social Pediatrics (Core of Discipline- CoD (PGY-2 or PGY-3) · 4-weeks)
  • Selective and Elective Rotations (Core of Discipline- CoD · 40-44 weeks)
  • Medical Day Hospital Junior Attending (Transition to Practice- TTP · 4-6-weeks)
  • Complex Care Service Senior (Transition to Practice- TTP · 4-6-weeks)
  • Acute Care Senior (Transition to Practice- TTP · 4-weeks)
  • Inpatient Flow Junior Attending (Transition to Practice- TTP · 2-weeks)
  • Nightfloat Senior (Transition to Practice- TTP · 5-weeks)
  • One of Neonatology (low acuity) junior staff/newborn junior staff/community neonatology (Transition to Practice- TTP)
  • Elective rotations including research (Transition to Practice- TTP · 18-25 weeks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 11 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • The Montreal Children's Hospital
  • Jewish General Hospital (perinatology)
  • Réseau de formation en pédiatrie sociale (Montréal)
  • St. Mary's Hospital
  • Lasalle Hospital
  • Centre UP
  • Community Pediatric Clinics (resident continuity clinics)
  • Centre Hospitalier de Gatineau (Gatineau · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or (Val-d'Or · rural or distributed site)
  • Hopital Ste-Justine (electives only)
  • Other Québec rural sites, via CREPUQ (rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 11, TELUS at 1; no published record for 9.

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

The Montreal Children's Hospital

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

Jewish General Hospital (perinatology)

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

St. Mary's Hospital

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de St. Mary (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24
Show facts for 4 more sites

Lasalle Hospital

Matched to Hôpital de Lasalle (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 11,354 · 2026–2027: 11,415
Licensed beds
physical health 110

Centre Hospitalier de Gatineau

Matched to Hôpital de Gatineau (Gatineau) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,018 · 2026–2027: 15,386
Licensed beds
physical health 121 · psychiatry 40 · neonatology 37

Centre Hospitalier de Val-d'Or

Matched to Hôpital de Val-d'Or (Val-d'Or) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 11,299 · 2026–2027: 11,152
Licensed beds
physical health 73 · geriatrics 8

Hopital Ste-Justine (electives only)

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1 and 2 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

8 Pediatrics info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream64 years5 dates, 27 Jan – 2 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream65 years5 dates, 28 Jan – 3 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McGill's Pediatrics program offers a comprehensive 4-year training experience in a children's hospital-based setting with a multicultural patient population.
  • The program provides extensive clinical exposure, bilingual training, and a commitment to resident well-being, with opportunities for global health and research.
Research
One block per year of elective research time available in second, third, and fourth years, with mandatory scholarly project and annual research presentation.
Training setting
Urban pediatric hospital setting in Montreal, with rotations across multiple hospitals and rural sites in Quebec, offering diverse clinical experiences from newborn to young adult populations.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, focusing on entrustable professional activities (EPAs) and comprehensive skill development across four training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CASPer assessment
  • Academic performance
  • Reference documents
  • Research/scholarly activities
  • Elective experiences
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Catherine Nolin

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Student Affairs Advisor

Write to the officepediatrics-residency.med@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Pediatrics elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal - Pediatrics, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 0 km

    10 positions · Regular

    French
  • Sherbrooke - PediatricsUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 131 km

    8 positions · Regular

    French
  • Ottawa - PediatricsUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 166 km

    13 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35760 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?