Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of TorontoToronto, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
10 positions
3 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Thu 5 Nov 2026,5:30–6:30 pm EST(check with the program)

Interviews

2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027virtual

Toronto, 11 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Global health collaboration opportunities with Moi University in Kenya.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Robotic Surgery bootcamp within a structured simulation-based surgical skills curriculum.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Core teaching hospitals together handle over 35,000 deliveries per year.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Obstetrics and Gynaecology residency at the University of Toronto leading to Royal College certification.
  • Residents rotate through tertiary institutions and affiliated community hospitals across the Greater Toronto Area, with a base hospital assigned in PGY1.
  • Completion of a scholarly project is required, and PGY1 includes a longitudinal ambulatory clinic rotation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

PGY-2
  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)two weeks
  • scholarly projecttwo weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Transition to Residency (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · various downtown sites)
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a major teaching hospital site (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a community hospital site (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · NYGH, MGH, THP-CV, SJHC)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MGH, SHSC, UHN, SMH)
  • General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MGH, MSH)
  • Gynaecologic Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · UHN-PMH, SHSC)
  • Intensive Care Unit (Medical Surgical) (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block Clinical Teaching Unit · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a community hospital site (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · NYGH, MGH, THP-CV, SJHC)
  • Ultrasound (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH/SJHC/TNI, SMH)
  • Longitudinal Ambulatory Rotation (LAR) (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 2 half-days per month from Sept to June · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SJHC, SMH, WCH)
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a major teaching-hospital site (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Ambulatory Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · WCH)
  • Ambulatory Obstetrics and Gynaecology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Family Planning (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · WCH and various clinic sites)
  • General Obstetrics and Gynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SJHC, SMH, THP-CV)
  • Chief Residency (Core of Discipline (COD) · 6 blocks total · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SMH, THP-CV)
  • Gynaecologic Oncology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks · SHSC, UHN-PMH, THP-CV)
  • Gynaecologic Reproductive Endocrinology, Infertility and Menopause (Core of Discipline (COD) · 2 blocks · MSH)
  • Paediatric and Adolescent Gynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block · HSC)
  • Maternal-Fetal Medicine (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC)
  • Urogynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC)
  • Scholarly Project (Core of Discipline (COD) · up to 3 blocks · site varies)
PGY-2
  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)two weeks
  • scholarly projecttwo weeks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Transition to Residency (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · various downtown sites)
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a major teaching hospital site (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a community hospital site (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · NYGH, MGH, THP-CV, SJHC)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MGH, SHSC, UHN, SMH)
  • General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MGH, MSH)
  • Gynaecologic Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · UHN-PMH, SHSC)
  • Intensive Care Unit (Medical Surgical) (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block Clinical Teaching Unit · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a community hospital site (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · NYGH, MGH, THP-CV, SJHC)
  • Ultrasound (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH/SJHC/TNI, SMH)
  • Longitudinal Ambulatory Rotation (LAR) (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 2 half-days per month from Sept to June · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SJHC, SMH, WCH)
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a major teaching-hospital site (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Ambulatory Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · WCH)
  • Ambulatory Obstetrics and Gynaecology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
  • Family Planning (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · WCH and various clinic sites)
  • General Obstetrics and Gynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SJHC, SMH, THP-CV)
  • Chief Residency (Core of Discipline (COD) · 6 blocks total; some may occur in TTP · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SMH, THP-CV)
  • Gynaecologic Oncology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks · SHSC, UHN-PMH, THP-CV)
  • Gynaecologic Reproductive Endocrinology, Infertility and Menopause (Core of Discipline (COD) · 2 blocks · MSH)
  • Paediatric and Adolescent Gynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block · HSC)
  • Maternal-Fetal Medicine (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC)
  • Urogynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC)
  • Scholarly Project (Core of Discipline (COD) · up to 3 blocks · site varies)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 11 teaching sites.

  • Mount Sinai Hospital (MSH)
  • St. Michael's Hospital (SMH)
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (SHSC)
  • North York General Hospital (NYGH)
  • Hospital for Sick Children (HSC)
  • Princess Margaret Hospital (PMH)/ University Health Network (UHN)
  • St. Joseph's Health Centre (SJHC)
  • Trillium Health Partners - Credit Valley Hospital (THP)
  • Michael Garron Hospital (MGH)
  • Women’s College Hospital (WCH)
  • Hennick Humber Hospital (HRH)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 12 of 22, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4; no published record for 6.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (SHSC); Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital (MSH); Mount Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

8 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At St. Michael's Hospital (SMH), St. Joseph's Health Centre (SJHC).

Mount Sinai Hospital (MSH)

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (SHSC)

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

North York General Hospital (NYGH)

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 3 more sites

Hospital for Sick Children (HSC)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Princess Margaret Hospital (PMH)/ University Health Network (UHN)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Trillium Health Partners - Credit Valley Hospital (THP)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream105 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream35 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream105 years2 dates, 22–23 Jan 2026
IMG stream35 years2 dates, 22–23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program provides comprehensive training leading to Royal College certification.
  • The program is committed to developing outstanding physicians who will contribute to society as leaders, advocates, scholars, and educators, with a strong emphasis on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion.
Research
Residents complete a scholarly project with faculty mentorship, with opportunities to pause clinical training for focused research through the Clinician-Investigator Program.
Training setting
Multiple teaching hospitals in the Greater Toronto Area, providing diverse clinical experiences across urban and community hospital settings with over 35,000 annual deliveries.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) focused on progressive skill development, with residents achieving Entrusted Professional Activities (EPAs) across four training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Scholarly activities
  • Leadership experiences

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Residency Program Officer, Residency Program Coordinator

Write to the officepg.obgyn@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From residents

Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 30 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 30 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35740 (CMG stream), 36134 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream