Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Nuclear Medicine

University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2027virtual

Ottawa, 8 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Direct exposure to a commercial radiopharmacy (Isologic) located within The Ottawa Hospital.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Option to complete a concurrent MSc in Clinical Science and Translational Medicine during residency.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Out-of-province PET/CT rotation in Montreal for exposure beyond Ontario indications.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a nominally 5-year nuclear medicine residency based at The Ottawa Hospital General and Civic campuses and the University of Ottawa Heart Institute.
  • Residents complete a three-month pediatric rotation at SickKids in Toronto and a three-month PET/CT rotation at McGill hospitals.
  • Research is integral, with one morning per week given for projects in the Core stage, and training is offered in English only.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
English

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Nuclear Medicine (Transition to Discipline)
  • internal medicine (Transition to Discipline)
  • cardiology (Transition to Discipline)
  • emergency (Transition to Discipline)
  • surgery (Transition to Discipline)
  • respirology (Transition to Discipline)
  • general nuclear medicine (Foundations, Core and Transition to Practice)
  • radionuclide therapy (Foundations, Core and Transition to Practice)
  • nuclear cardiology (Foundations, Core and Transition to Practice)
  • PET/CT (Foundations, Core and Transition to Practice)
  • diagnostic radiology (Foundations, Core and Transition to Practice)
  • pediatric rotation (three-month · Toronto Hospital for Sick Children)
  • PET/CT rotation (three-month · McGill University Hospitals)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 8 teaching sites.

  • The Ottawa Hospital, General Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital, Civic Campus
  • University of Ottawa Heart Institute
  • Toronto Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
  • Montreal General Hospital (Montreal)
  • Jewish General Hospital (Montreal)
  • CSSSG Hospital de Gatineau (Gatineau)
  • CHU Sainte-Justine (Montreal)

Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 8, Epic at 4, TELUS at 1; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

8 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Ottawa Hospital, General Campus, The Ottawa Hospital, Civic Campus.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Toronto Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Montreal General Hospital

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Show facts for 3 more sites

Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

CSSSG Hospital de Gatineau

Matched to Hôpital de Gatineau (Gatineau) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,018 · 2026–2027: 15,386
Licensed beds
physical health 121 · psychiatry 40 · neonatology 37

CHU Sainte-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

For the other sites: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26 and 27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 19–20 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa Nuclear Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience that prepares residents to become skilled nuclear medicine specialists.
  • The program emphasizes clinical expertise, research opportunities, and exposure to diverse nuclear medicine settings across multiple hospitals and institutions.
Research
Trainees are encouraged to participate in at least one research project, with support from research coordinators and staff physicians. Opportunities to present at local and national research days.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Ottawa, with additional rotations in Toronto and Montreal. Training occurs across multiple hospital sites including The Ottawa Hospital, University of Ottawa Heart Institute, and affiliated pediatric and oncology centers.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing clinical skills, research, and interdisciplinary learning through structured rotations, academic sessions, and diverse clinical exposures.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV/Background
  • Electives
  • MCCQE1 examination
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Nuclear Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Montreal, QC · 166 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
  • London - Nuclear MedicineWestern University

    London · 518 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Halifax - Nuclear MedicineDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 955 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 7 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35830 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?