Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Nuclear Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Halifax, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Combined six-year program leading to certification in both Nuclear Medicine and Diagnostic Radiology.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Department pays tuition for the 4-week AIRP radiology-pathology correlation course.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie's Nuclear Medicine program is a 6-year combined Nuclear Medicine/Diagnostic Radiology program leading to certification in both specialties.
  • It comprises one basic clinical year, two years of Nuclear Medicine and three years of Diagnostic Radiology.
  • Adult training is at QEII Health Sciences Centre sites in Halifax, with pediatrics at the IWK Health Centre and a community experience at Saint John Regional Hospital.
  • Residents must complete at least one approved scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • clinical cardiology trainingat least 1 month

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • adult clinical Nuclear Medicine (PGY-2 to 6 · QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General (VG) and Halifax Infirmary (HI) sites)
  • Pediatric Nuclear Medicine (PGY-2 to 6 · IWK Health Centre)
  • community NM experience (PGY-2 to 6 · Saint John Regional Hospital)
  • radiopharmacy (PGY-2 to 6)
  • technical aspects of Nuclear Medicine (PGY-2 to 6)
  • cardiac stress-testing (PGY-2 to 6)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 5 teaching sites.

  • QEII Health Sciences Centre
  • Victoria General (VG)
  • Halifax Infirmary (HI)
  • IWK Health Centre
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4 of 5; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

5 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General (VG), Halifax Infirmary (HI).

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

QEII Health Sciences Centre

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary

Victoria General (VG)

Matched to QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Halifax Infirmary (HI)

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary
Show facts for 2 more sites

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year
PGY-6
$108,066 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream16 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years1 date, 23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • This is a 6-year combined Nuclear Medicine and Diagnostic Radiology residency program at Dalhousie University.
  • The program offers comprehensive training across both specialties, with residents gaining extensive experience in various nuclear medicine techniques and diagnostic radiology, leading to certification in both specialties.
Research
Residents are required to undertake at least one approved scholarly project during their residency, with time and guidance provided.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax, with additional sites including Saint John Regional Hospital and IWK Health Centre, providing a diverse urban and community healthcare experience.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive learning, comprehensive exposure to clinical domains, and development of CanMEDS roles and competencies.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Personal letter
  • References
  • Interview performance
  • CASPer assessment
  • Electives
  • Research/Publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Nuclear Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

  • Montreal, QC · 790 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Ottawa - Nuclear MedicineUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 955 km

    1 position · CMG

  • London - Nuclear MedicineWestern University

    London, ON · 1,427 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36293 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?