Montreal - Nuclear Medicine
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
3 dates, 1–4 Feb 2027
Montreal, 4 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Curriculum designed to also meet American Board of Nuclear Medicine requirements, not only Royal College standards.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- McGill's five-year Nuclear Medicine residency is designed to meet both Royal College and American Board of Nuclear Medicine requirements.
- After a first year that is mostly internal medicine, residents train in core nuclear medicine split between the MUHC and the JGH, plus radiology, pediatric nuclear medicine and PET rotations.
- Each resident is expected to complete one research project suitable for publication or presentation.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
By year
- PGY-1
- Nuclear Medicineone month
- internal medicine
- surgery
- pediatrics
- emergency room
- cardiology
- hematology/oncology
- PGY-3
- correlative imaging (Radiology) and cross-sectorial anatomy2 months
- PGY-4
- correlative imaging (Radiology) and cross-sectional anatomy4 months
- PET rotationsup to 3 months
- Pediatric Nuclear Medicine1 month
- Electives
Other rotations
- Core Nuclear Medicine (second and third years · MUHC and the JGH)
- core Nuclear Medicine rotation (final year · 4-weeks · same site of the PGY-2 Resident)
- PET rotations (final year · 3 to 6 month)
- advanced core Nuclear Medicine rotation (final year)
Where you train
Montreal, Quebec: 4 teaching sites.
- McGill University Health Center (Glen Site)
- Jewish General Hospital
- McGill University Health Center (Montreal General Hospital Site)
- Montreal Children's Hospital
Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 2 of 4; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
McGill University Health Center (Glen Site)
- Licensed beds
- physical health 480 · psychiatry 8 · neonatology 52
Jewish General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
McGill University Health Center (Montreal General Hospital Site)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Montreal Children's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
About Montréal
People
1,762,949residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 1, 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 1 | 5 years | 3 dates, 1–4 Feb 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 2 | 5 years | 4 dates, 22 Jan – 2 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- McGill's Nuclear Medicine residency is a comprehensive 5-year program designed to train competent nuclear medicine physicians.
- The program provides extensive training across multiple hospital sites, emphasizing competency-based medical education, research opportunities, and professional development in nuclear medicine.
- Research
- Residents are expected to participate in one research project suitable for publication or presentation, with potential for 3-6 month dedicated research time.
- Training setting
- Urban medical centers in Montreal, including McGill University Health Center, Jewish General Hospital, and Montreal Children's Hospital, offering diverse clinical environments and patient populations.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education with progressive professional responsibility, focusing on developing comprehensive skills in nuclear medicine through supervised, increasingly independent training.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV content
- Electives completed
- Examination performance
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Academic transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Marc Hickeson
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Nuclear Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Montreal
- French
- French
Did this page answer your question?