Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - General Surgery

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions+1 from 4 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; “A clinical elective, observership or research elective in any Surgical Specialty in…” details under How they choose

Interviews

1 date, 5 Feb 2027MMI or rotating station

Ottawa, 7 teaching sites

Summary

  • The University of Ottawa General Surgery program is a five-year Royal College residency based mainly at The Ottawa Hospital's three sites.
  • Residents can also train at partner hospitals, including Pembroke Regional Hospital and Hawkesbury and District General Hospital, for community general surgery experience.
  • A Surgical Scientist Program is available for residents interested in academic surgery.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 7 teaching sites.

  • Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
  • Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
  • Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • The Montfort Hospital
  • Pembroke Regional Hospital (Community) (Pembroke · rural or distributed site)
  • Hawkesbury and District General Hospital (Hawkesbury · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 6 of 7; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus, Ottawa Hospital - General Campus, Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

The Montfort Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Pembroke Regional Hospital (Community)

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), fully electronic record since Oct 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • “A clinical elective, observership or research elective in any Surgical Specialty in Canada in the past 3 years.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
5 Feb 2027
Format
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Ottawa.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
20231 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 years1 date, 5 Feb 2027MMI or rotating station
  • Positions 4 → 5 from the 2026 match
IMG stream15 years1 date, 5 Feb 2027MMI or rotating stationNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years1 date, 6 Feb 2026
IMG stream15 years1 date, 6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa General Surgery Program offers comprehensive training for those interested in academic or community surgery careers.
  • Located in the capital city, the program provides state-of-the-art simulation training, a Surgical Scientist Program, and diverse clinical experiences across multiple hospital sites.
Research
Extensive research support through Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, with graduate programs in Basic Science Research, Clinical Epidemiology, Health Administration, Education, and Public Health.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center in Ottawa, serving a population of 1.3 million in Eastern Ontario, with multiple hospital campuses and diverse clinical settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education following Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada specialty training requirements, emphasizing progressive independence and comprehensive surgical skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • MMI interview
  • Leadership skills
  • Research involvement

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Kimberly Bertens

    Faculty profile of Dr. Kimberly Bertens(opens in a new tab)

    Biography

    In addition Dr. Bertens has completed a Masters of Public Health with a focus in quantitative methods at the Harvard School of Public Health. Her research interests include the interface between sociodemographic factors and access to surgical care.

    Source: uottawa.ca · checked Oct 2026

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officepa.gensurg@toh.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

General Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

  • Ottawa - Bilingual · 0 km

    1 position · CMG

    Bilingual
  • Kingston - General SurgeryQueen’s University

    Kingston · 146 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Montreal, QC · 166 km

    4 positions · Regular

    Bilingual

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35591 (CMG stream), 35854 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream