Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - General Surgery

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions+1 from 3 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Wed 3 Feb 2027,time not stated

Interviews

1 date, 3 Feb 2027virtual

Montreal, 8 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Funded 1.5-year Surgeon Scientist Program with thesis-based graduate degree, satisfying the Royal College Clinician Investigator Program.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Access to two dedicated simulation centres for open, laparoscopic and robotic skills training.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's General Surgery program is a 5-year Competence by Design residency based at several Montreal teaching hospitals.
  • Clinical training is bilingual in English and French, with protected weekly academic half-days.
  • Selected residents can enter a fully funded 1.5-year Surgical Scientist Program leading to a Master's degree.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Training language
English and French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Surgical Foundations Course and Boot Camp (Transition to Practice)
  • general surgery (including transplant and hepatopancreatobiliary service) (Foundations to Discipline · 14 blocks)
  • trauma (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • vascular (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • thoracic surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 1 block)
  • critical care (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • endoscopy (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • pediatric surgery (Foundations to Discipline · 2 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 8 teaching sites.

  • Montreal General Hospital (MGH)
  • Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH/Glen)
  • Jewish General Hospital (JGH)
  • St. Mary’s Hospital (SMH)
  • Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH/Glen)
  • Centre Hospitalier Regional de Lanaudiere Joliette (Joliette · rural or distributed site)
  • Gatineau (Gatineau · rural or distributed site)
  • Lakeshore General Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 1 of 8, TELUS at 3; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Montreal General Hospital (MGH), Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH/Glen), Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH/Glen).

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Montreal General Hospital (MGH)

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH/Glen)

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Jewish General Hospital (JGH)

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Show facts for 4 more sites

St. Mary’s Hospital (SMH)

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de St. Mary (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24

Montreal Children's Hospital (MCH/Glen)

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

Centre Hospitalier Regional de Lanaudiere Joliette

Clinical record
DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de Lanaudière et Centre d'Hébergement Parphilia-Ferland (Saint-Charles-Borromée) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,583 · 2026–2027: 30,764
Licensed beds
physical health 258 · psychiatry 51 · geriatrics 20

Lakeshore General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général du Lakeshore (Pointe-Claire) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,918 · 2026–2027: 15,905
Licensed beds
physical health 234 · psychiatry 31

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
3 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

  • Wed 3 Feb 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream45 years1 date, 3 Feb 2027Virtual
  • Positions 3 → 4 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream35 years2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McGill University's General Surgery Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience in a world-renowned academic setting.
  • The program provides exceptional surgical training with flexibility to meet individual career goals, emphasizing both academic and community surgery preparation.
Research
Extensive research opportunities including Surgical Scientist Program, funded Master's research, conference presentation support, and diverse research tracks in basic science, clinical epidemiology, and surgical education.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple major teaching hospitals in Montreal, including urban academic medical centers and community hospitals, providing diverse clinical exposure.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on progressive skill development, frequent formative assessments, and personalized learning paths tailored to individual resident goals and interests.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV/Resume
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Research experience
  • Leadership skills
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officegeneralsurgery.med@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

General Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal · 0 km

    6 positions · Regular

    French
  • Sherbrooke - General SurgeryUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 131 km

    5 positions · Regular

    French
  • Ottawa - Bilingual, ON · 166 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 16 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36480 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?