Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - General Surgery

Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Thu 12 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm EDTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Kingston, 4 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Clinical Investigator Program lets residents earn a Masters or PhD; 25% of current residents pursue graduate degrees.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated endoscopy rotation starting in PGY1 combining simulation and clinical training.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • PGY5 residents run senior clinics and ORs independently with minimal staff intervention.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Queen's General Surgery is a five-year residency based at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, organized around clinical teaching units in four-week blocks.
  • Residents rotate repeatedly through Lakeridge Health in Oshawa and complete a one-block trauma rotation at St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto.
  • Call is a night float system, and research is an expected component with a weekly half-day available for research.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-3
  • general surgeryKingston12 blocks
  • gastroenterologyone block
PGY-4
  • electivethree or four elective blocks
  • general surgeryKingstonseven general surgery blocks
  • trauma rotationSt. Michael’s hospital in Torontoone block
PGY-5
  • CTU services on general surgery

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • surgical foundations bootcamp (Transition to Discipline (PGY1, 3 months) · first two weeks)
  • General Surgery CTU Teams (Transition to Discipline (PGY1, 3 months) · first 3 months)
  • vascular surgery (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks)
  • ICU (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks)
  • endoscopy (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks)
  • thoracics (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks)
  • ER (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · one block)
  • plastic surgery (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · one block)
  • anesthesia (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · split bock)
  • radiology (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · split bock)
  • General Surgery (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · remaining blocks)
  • General Surgery (Surgical Foundations (PGY 1 to PGY 2-3, 18-24 months) · two blocks · Oshawa Lakeridge health site)
  • community surgical experience (PGY 3 or PGY 4 · Napanee)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Kingston, Ontario: 4 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre
  • Intensive Care Unit at KHSC Kingston General Hospital site
  • Lakeridge Health (Oshawa General Hospital) (Oshawa · rural or distributed site)
  • St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 4, Lumeo at 2.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Kingston Health Sciences Centre, Intensive Care Unit at KHSC Kingston General Hospital site.

Lakeridge Health (Oshawa General Hospital)

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Michael's Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kingston

  • People

    132,485residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kingston

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kingston, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Kingston (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 yearsVirtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: positions (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream55 years1 date, 20 Jan 2025
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Queen's General Surgery Residency Program is a strong, cohesive program focused on clinical and academic excellence.
  • The program provides comprehensive training that prepares residents for either community General Surgery or further fellowship training, with a unique emphasis on research and individual mentorship.
Research
Residents are expected to conduct research, with one half-day per week dedicated to research projects and opportunities to pursue graduate degrees.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, with additional rotations at Lakeridge Health in Oshawa and St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto. The program offers a mix of academic and community surgical experiences.
Teaching approach
The program emphasizes competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on mentoring each resident through their individual path to success and providing graded responsibilities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Reference letters
  • Research experience
  • Electives
  • Personal letter
  • CaRMS self-identification questionnaire (optional)

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

General Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Kingston

  • Ottawa - General SurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 146 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Ottawa - Bilingual · 146 km

    1 position · CMG

    Bilingual
  • Toronto - General SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 241 km

    16 positions · CMG, IMG

In these collections:

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 6 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35470 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Quota published: 5. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Quota published: 5

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?