Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Family Medicine - Palliative Care

University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

5 dates, 2–6 Nov 2026virtual

Ottawa, 5 teaching sites

A car is required

Also at Ottawa, applied for at the school: Palliative Medicine - re-entry positions (Category 1 program, non-CaRMS entry), on Ottawa’s page of programs applied for at the school · 12 months (13 blocks) · practising physicians · no single close date stated (as of 10 Oct 2026)

Not through CaRMS: you apply to Ottawa, on its own dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

What stands out about this program

  • Final two-block palliative care unit rotation in a junior staff role, precepting other learners and managing the team.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Bimonthly one-on-one 'Verbatims' communication coaching by a social worker or spiritual care professional.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Trains alongside the Royal College palliative medicine subspecialty program with high interaction between residents.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year enhanced skills program trains family physicians to provide primary and consultant palliative care.
  • Based at St. Vincent's Hospital, residents rotate across sites in Ottawa including The Ottawa Hospital General and Civic campuses and community palliative care teams.
  • The year includes a longitudinal cancer-centre palliative clinic every four weeks, three elective blocks, and a required scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Getting around
  • A car is required

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Palliative Care Unit (B01 · Bruyere)
  • Palliative Care Unit (B02 · Bruyere)
  • Regional Palliative Consultation Team (B03)
  • Elective (B04)
  • Palliative Care Consults (B05 · TOH-General)
  • Palliative Care Consults (B06 · TOH-General)
  • Elective (B07)
  • Community Palliative Care (B08)
  • Palliative Care Consults (B09 · TOH-Civic)
  • Elective (B10)
  • Oncology (B11)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 5 teaching sites. A car is required.

  • Bruyère Health, St. Vincent's Hospital (SVH)
  • The Ottawa Hospital (TOH) General Campus
  • Ottawa Heart Institute
  • The Ottawa Hospital Cancer Centre
  • Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre on the campus of the Queensway Carleton Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 5; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Ottawa Heart Institute

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Alexandre Rochon

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officepmrp@bruyere.org

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Palliative Care elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 27 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34649 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?