Barrie - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
University of TorontoBarrie, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Barrie, 10 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Required one-block rotation in palliative care for people experiencing homelessness (PEACH) with Inner City Health Associates.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This 12-month University of Toronto palliative care enhanced skills program has a Barrie stream that prepares physicians to provide primary and consultant palliative care.
- Mandatory blocks include inpatient consultation and oncology at Royal Victoria Hospital, home palliative care with the Barrie team, and rotations at Southlake, Princess Margaret, SickKids and Inner City Health Associates.
- Residents must complete a scholarly project and attend a four-month longitudinal half-day ambulatory clinic.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Inpatient Consultation Services (2 blocks · Royal Victoria Hospital)
- Home Palliative Care (2 blocks · Barrie palliative care team)
- Inpatient Palliative Care Unit (2 blocks · Southlake Regional Health Centre, Princess Margaret Hospital)
- Medical + Radiation Oncology (1 block · Royal Victoria Hospital)
- Psychosocial Oncology (1 block · University Health Network (Princess Margaret Hospital), Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
- PEACH (Palliative Education and Care for the Homeless) (1 Block · Inner City Health Associates (ICHA))
- Pediatric Palliative Care (0.5 Block · The Hospital for Sick Children)
- Non-malignant Palliative Care (0.5 Block · Royal Victoria Hospital)
- Elective (3 blocks · Negotiated individually, with approval of PD)
- longitudinal, four-month, half-day clinic (four-month · Odette Cancer Centre, Princess Margaret Hospital or Mount Sinai Hospital)
Where you train
Barrie, Ontario: 10 teaching sites.
- Royal Victoria Hospital
- Barrie palliative care team
- Southlake Regional Health Centre (Newmarket)
- Princess Margaret Hospital (Toronto)
- University Health Network (Princess Margaret Hospital) (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- Inner City Health Associates (ICHA) (Toronto)
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Odette Cancer Centre (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 10, MEDITECH at 2, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 4.
Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Royal Victoria Hospital
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Southlake Regional Health Centre
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record
Princess Margaret Hospital
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027
The Hospital for Sick Children
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Mount Sinai Hospital
- Clinical record
- Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Barrie
People
147,829residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.2%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.2 °CJanuary mean20.1 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Panel
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Sarah Kawaguchi
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Assistant
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine - Palliative Care elsewhere
Nearest to Barrie
Did this page answer your question?