Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology

University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027virtual

Ottawa, 7 teaching sites5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Annual off-site Pathology Retreat focused on resident well-being, leadership, communication and collaboration.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Digital pathology has been adopted within the training program.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents write the ASCP Resident-In-Service Exam (RISE) every year.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Ottawa offers a 5-year Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency divided into four Competency by Design stages.
  • Most anatomical pathology training is at The Ottawa Hospital General Campus, with cardiac and neuropathology at the Civic Campus.
  • Rotations follow a 13-block calendar, and the PGY5 year is mostly electives or selectives.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

PGY-4
  • protected study timeone full block
  • QA rotationsone full block
PGY-5
  • elective or selective rotations11 of 13 blocks
  • protected study timehalf block
  • QA rotationshalf block

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 7 teaching sites5 teaching sites.

  • The Ottawa Hospital-General Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital-Civic Campus
  • Riverside
  • University of Ottawa Heart Institute
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre
  • Dynacare Private Laboratory
  • The Ottawa Hospital-General Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital-Civic Campus
  • University of Ottawa Heart Institute
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
  • Dynacare Private Laboratory

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 7; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Ottawa Hospital-General Campus, The Ottawa Hospital-Civic Campus, Riverside.

University of Ottawa Heart Institute

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18, 19, 20, 21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

3 Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years5 dates, 26–30 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years5 dates, 26–30 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa offers a comprehensive 5-year Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency program leading to Royal College specialty examinations.
  • The program follows a Competency-By-Design (CBD) pathway with four distinct stages, emphasizing CanMEDS roles and providing extensive academic and clinical training.
Research
Dedicated research time integrated into curriculum, with opportunities for presentations at national and international meetings
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple hospitals in Ottawa, including The Ottawa Hospital (General and Civic Campuses), Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, and University of Ottawa Heart Institute, providing diverse clinical exposure.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing CanMEDS roles, work-based practice assessments, and multi-source feedback mechanisms.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Program Admin: Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology program

Write to the officemlevesq2@uottawa.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 6 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 6 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35829 (CMG stream), 35924 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream