Toronto - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
University of TorontoToronto, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 31
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Info session
details info sessions of this programMon 2 Nov 2026,8:00–9:00 pm ESTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Toronto, 14 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Training in fully digital pathology practice environments.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Option of dedicated research electives lasting 3 to 12 months.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Toronto Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency is a 5-year Royal College-accredited program.
- Core residents are based at one of four major teaching sites and rotate through all four, with community hospital practice also part of core training.
- Residents receive a half day per week of protected research time and present their projects at an annual Departmental Research Day.
- Interviews are held via Zoom.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Where you train
Toronto, Ontario: 14 teaching sites.
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- St. Michael's Hospital
- St. Joseph's Health Centre
- Toronto General Hospital
- Toronto Western Hospital
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
- Trillium Health Partners
- Michael Garron Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Scarborough Health Network
Show all 14 sitesShow fewer
- Lakeridge Health Network
- Provincial Forensic Pathology Unit (Ontario Forensic Pathology Service)
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 9 of 14, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 3.
Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
The Hospital for Sick Children
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Mount Sinai Hospital
- Clinical record
- Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Trillium Health Partners
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
North York General Hospital
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Lakeridge Health Network
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Toronto
People
2,794,356residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.0%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- “All IMG candidates accepted to residency training programs will be required to undergo an Assessment Verification Period (AVP).”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
Mon 2 Nov 2026
8:00–9:00 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | Nothing noted | |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 5 dates, 19–23 Jan 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 5 dates, 19–23 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Toronto offers the largest Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency program in Canada, with extensive training opportunities across multiple tertiary referral centers.
- The program seeks to equip trainees to be future pathology leaders, focusing on developing competent specialists capable of advancing patient care and integrating complex medical knowledge.
- Research
- Residents are supported in finding research projects, matched with faculty supervisors, and given 0.5 days per week of protected research time.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical centers in Toronto, with training across multiple major teaching hospitals and institutions serving a metropolitan population of over 2.6 million.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education following the Royal College Competency By Design framework, with a focus on progressive skill development through structured training stages and protected academic time.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV review
- Research/publications
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Carlo Hojilla
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Postgraduate Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology elsewhere
Nearest to Toronto
Did this page answer your question?
