Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology

Queen’s UniversityKingston, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match changed: see what changed on the CaRMS page
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027virtual

Kingston, 1 teaching site

What stands out about this program

  • Implemented competency-based medical education two years before national peers.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • Regional Forensics Centre providing forensic pathology training.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Pediatric pathology integrated horizontally throughout the program.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency at Queen's University, with laboratory services centralized at Kingston Health Sciences Centre.
  • Training includes flow cytometry, cytogenetics and molecular diagnostics, with pediatric pathology integrated throughout and forensic pathology training at a Regional Forensics Centre.
  • Residents must complete and communicate a scholarly project, and a clinician investigator program is available for a graduate degree.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Kingston, Ontario: 1 teaching site.

  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston General Hospital site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Lumeo at 1 of 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston General Hospital site)

Clinical record
Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kingston

  • People

    132,485residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kingston

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kingston, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Kingston (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18, 19, 20, 21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.

3 Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Kingston.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20191 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202000
202100
202200
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: positions (noticed 13 Oct)
IMG stream15 years5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: positions (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years5 dates, 19–23 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years5 dates, 19–23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Queen's University offers an excellent 5-year Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency program with comprehensive training across multiple pathology subspecialties.
  • The program provides state-of-the-art training in flow cytometry, cytogenetics, and molecular diagnostics, supported by a busy regional cancer clinic and regional forensics centre.
Research
Multiple research opportunities in established laboratories investigating areas like amyloidogenesis, Alzheimer's disease, cancer molecular biology, and neuropathology.
Training setting
Training is centralized at Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston General Hospital site), providing a comprehensive regional laboratory service environment.
Teaching approach
A competency-based approach providing frequent low-stakes formative feedback, focusing on individual learning needs and ensuring competence for independent practice or fellowship training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Elective experiences
  • Research portfolio
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Pathology Education Coordinator

Write to the officepathedcoordinator@queensu.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology elsewhere

Nearest to Kingston

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 17 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 17 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36264 (CMG stream), 35726 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: CMG stream: Quota published: 2 and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • CMG stream: Quota published: 2

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct
    • IMG stream: Quota published: 1

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream