Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Obstetrics and Gynecology

McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 11 teaching sites

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • Four resident laparoscopy workshops per year at a Minimal Access Surgery centre and an animal lab.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents can achieve colposcopy certification during the colposcopy rotation.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McMaster's five-year Obstetrics and Gynecology residency trains at Hamilton hospitals and at community hospitals in surrounding communities.
  • PGY-2 includes 11 core blocks split between McMaster, St. Joseph's, and Kitchener-Waterloo or St. Catharines for community exposure.
  • Each resident must complete one research project and one quality improvement initiative.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Obstetrics & GynecologyThree four-week blocks
  • Internal Medicine (CTU and Obstetrical Medicine)Two four-week blocks
  • ICUTwo four-week blocks
  • General SurgeryTwo four-week blocks
  • Ambulatory/Women's Health Concerns ClinicsOne four-week block
  • AnesthesiaOne four-week block
  • Pediatrics (Pediatric Surgery and NICU)One four-week block
  • Emergency MedicineOne four-week block
PGY-2
  • Junior Gynecologic Oncologytwo blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Ultrasound and Prenatal Diagnosis (PGY-3/PGY-4)
  • Maternal Fetal Medicine (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks · McMaster University Medical Centre)
  • Reproductive Endocrinology/Infertility (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks)
  • Gynecologic Oncology (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks · Juravinski Hospital)
  • Urogynecology (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks)
  • Colposcopy (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 2-3 Four Week Blocks)
  • Laparoscopy (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 1 or 2 - Four Week Blocks)
  • Senior Gynecology Ambulatory Block (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 1 Four Week Block)
  • Elective (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 6-9 Four Week Blocks)
  • Chief Resident (PGY-4 and 5)
  • Senior Gyne rotation (PGY-4 and 5 · Kitchener-Waterloo region)
PGY-1
  • Obstetrics & GynecologyThree four-week blocks
  • Internal Medicine (CTU and Obstetrical Medicine)two four-week blocks
  • ICUtwo four-week blocks
  • General Surgerytwo four-week blocks
  • Ambulatory/Women's Health Concerns Clinicsone four-week block
  • Anesthesiaone four-week block
  • Pediatrics (Pediatric Surgery and NICU)one four-week block
  • Emergency Medicineone four-week block
PGY-2
  • junior gynecologic oncology rotationtwo blocks
PGY-5
  • Chief Resident
  • Senior Gyne rotationKitchener-Waterloo region

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Ultrasound and Prenatal Diagnosis (PGY-3/PGY-4)
  • Maternal Fetal Medicine (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks · McMaster University Medical Centre)
  • Reproductive Endocrinology/Infertility (PGY-3/PGY-4 · Three 4-Week Blocks)
  • Gynecologic Oncology (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks · Juravinski Hospital)
  • Urogynecology (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 3 Four Week Blocks)
  • Colposcopy (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 2-3 Four Week Blocks)
  • Laparoscopy (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 1 or 2 - Four Week Blocks)
  • Senior Gynecology Ambulatory Block (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 1 Four Week Block)
  • Elective (PGY-3/PGY-4 · 6-9 Four Week Blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 11 teaching sites. A car is recommended.

  • McMaster University Medical Centre
  • St Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
  • Juravinski Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Hospital Center for Minimal Access Surgery
  • Brantford General Hospital (Brantford · rural or distributed site)
  • Oakville Hospital (Oakville · rural or distributed site)
  • Joseph Brant Hospital (rural or distributed site)
  • Grand River Hospital (Waterloo region · rural or distributed site)
  • Guelph General Hospital (Guelph · rural or distributed site)
  • Niagara Health Services – St Catharine’s (St. Catharines · rural or distributed site)
  • Humber River Hospital (rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

  • McMaster University Medical Centre
  • St Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
  • Juravinski Hospital
  • Hamilton Health Sciences Animal Lab
  • Brantford General Hospital (Brantford · rural or distributed site)
  • Oakville Hospital (Oakville · rural or distributed site)
  • Joseph Brant Hospital (rural or distributed site)
  • Grand River Hospital (Waterloo region · rural or distributed site)
  • Guelph General Hospital (Guelph · rural or distributed site)
  • Niagara Health Services – St Catharine’s (St. Catharines · rural or distributed site)
  • Humber River Hospital (rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 3 of 12, MEDITECH at 4, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

9 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At McMaster University Medical Centre, Juravinski Hospital.

St Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton

Clinical record
Epic (Dovetale), fully electronic record since Dec 2017 As of 31 Oct 2026

Brantford General Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH (cloud-based EHR), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Oakville Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record since Nov 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 4 more sites

Grand River Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Guelph General Hospital

Clinical record
Meditech, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Niagara Health Services – St Catharine’s

Clinical record
Oracle Cerner (Cerner hospital information system), fully electronic record As of 31 Oct 2026

Humber River Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

6 Obstetrics and Gynecology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream85 years2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream85 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McMaster University's Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program offers comprehensive clinical and surgical training in both academic and community settings.
  • The program is committed to preparing graduates who are excellent clinicians, leaders, and advocates in women's health, with a strong emphasis on research, scholarship, and interprofessional collaboration.
Research
Residents are required to complete one research project, with protected research time and strong faculty support for scholarly activities.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban and community hospitals in Hamilton and surrounding regions, including Hamilton Health Sciences, St. Joseph's Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, and community hospitals in Brantford, Oakville, and Waterloo.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency Based Medical Education (CBME) approach, focusing on outcomes-based learning and progressive skill development across five years of training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV and academic accomplishments
  • Electives
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Education Team, General Mailbox

Write to the officepgobgyn@mcmaster.ca

“Please email the general mailbox for all information” · the program’s note on CaRMS

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 1 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 1 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36403 (CMG stream), 36304 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream