Skip to content
CdnMD

Peel & Surrounding Communities - Obstetrics and Gynecology

Toronto Metropolitan UniversityPeel & Surrounding Communities, OntarioNew for 2027

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

1 date, 1 Feb 2027virtual

Peel & Surrounding Communities, 8 teaching sites

A car is recommended

What stands out about this program

  • LEARN Time: protected non-clinical time for residents meeting standards, for leadership, education, advocacy and research.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated Perinatal Mental Health block in PGY1.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Obstetrics and Gynecology residency at the TMU School of Medicine, participating in the CaRMS R-1 Match for the first time for July 2027 entry.
  • Training sites are distributed across the region, including William Osler Health System, Trillium Health Partners, Headwaters, Halton Healthcare and Michael Garron Hospital.
  • Residents meeting standards can access protected LEARN Time for leadership, education, advocacy and research activities.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Underserved urban
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is recommended

By year

PGY-2
  • General Gynecology7 blocks
  • General Obstetrics6 blocks
PGY-3
  • Maternal-Fetal Medicine3 blocks
  • Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility3 blocks
  • Urogynecology3 blocks
  • Ultrasound1 block
  • Prenatal Diagnosis1 block
  • Colposcopy & Pathology1 block
  • Elective1 block
PGY-4
  • Elective5 blocks
  • Gynecologic Oncology3 blocks
  • Selective2 blocks
  • Pediatric Gynecology1 block
  • Community Obstetrics and Gynecology1 block
PGY-5
  • Senior Obstetrics and Gynecology6 blocks
  • Elective2 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Fundamentals Series (Transition to Discipline · 1 week)
  • General Obstetrics and Gynecology (Transition to Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Intensive Care Unit (Foundations · 2 blocks)
  • Internal Medicine (Foundations · 2 blocks)
  • General Surgery (Foundations · 2 blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations · 1 block)
  • Anesthesia (Foundations · 1 block)
  • Pediatrics/Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (Foundations · 1 block)
  • Perinatal Mental Health (Foundations · 1 block)
  • Lead Obstetrics and Gynecology (Transition to Practice · 5 blocks)
PGY-1
  • General Obstetrics and Gynecology3 blocks
  • Intensive Care Unit2 blocks
  • Internal Medicine2 blocks
  • General Surgery2 blocks
  • Emergency Medicine1 block
  • Anesthesia1 block
  • Pediatrics/Neonatal Intensive Care Unit1 block
  • Perinatal Mental Health1 block
  • Fundamentals Series1 week
PGY-2
  • General Gynecology7 blocks
  • General Obstetrics6 blocks
PGY-3
  • Maternal-Fetal Medicine3 blocks
  • Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility3 blocks
  • Urogynecology3 blocks
  • Ultrasound1 block
  • Prenatal Diagnosis1 block
  • Colposcopy & Pathology1 block
  • Elective1 block
PGY-4
  • Elective5 blocks
  • Gynecologic Oncology3 blocks
  • Selective2 blocks
  • Pediatric Gynecology1 block
  • Community Obstetrics and Gynecology1 block
PGY-5
  • Senior Obstetrics and Gynecology6 blocks
  • Lead Obstetrics and Gynecology5 blocks
  • Elective2 blocks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Peel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario: 8 teaching sites. A car is recommended.

  • William Osler Health System
  • Trillium Health Partners
  • Headwaters Health Care Centre
  • Halton Healthcare
  • Michael Garron Hospital
  • McMaster University
  • Western University
  • Queens University (Lakeridge Health)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 8, MEDITECH at 2; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

William Osler Health System

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Oct 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Trillium Health Partners

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Headwaters Health Care Centre

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 2 more sites

Halton Healthcare

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record since Nov 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Queens University (Lakeridge Health)

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

This location covers more than one place, so its figures are on each place’s own page.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
1 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.

6 Obstetrics and Gynecology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Valerie Mueller

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officepgme@torontomu.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Peel & Surrounding Communities

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35858 (CMG stream), 35990 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream