Toronto - Internal Medicine
University of TorontoToronto, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 5312
- Length
- 3
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Interviews
5 dates, 21–27 Jan 2027
5 dates, 21–27 Jan 2027
Toronto, 9 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Black and Indigenous applicant pathway with interviews by a panel including an Indigenous or Black faculty member.
From “Important information” on the CaRMS page
Four-year academic half day program, including Royal College exam preparation in PGY3.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Toronto Internal Medicine program is a three-year core program with about 65-70 residents per PGY year.
- Residents are assigned base hospitals among the main Toronto teaching hospitals and also train at community sites.
- Training includes at least 15 blocks of general internal medicine, four critical care blocks, and one protected PGY2 block for a required scholarly project.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- general internal medicine (clinical teaching unit, medical consults, emergency consults, ambulatory and community-based internal medicine) (a minimum of 15 rotation blocks)
- managing critically ill patients (four (4) rotation blocks)
- scholarly project (1 block)
- medicine-related subspecialties
- Electives (Up to six (6) rotation blocks)
- PGY-2
- scholarly project1 block
Other rotations
- general internal medicine (clinical teaching unit, medical consults, emergency consults, ambulatory and community-based internal medicine) (a minimum of 15 rotation blocks)
- managing critically ill patients (four (4) rotation blocks)
- Electives (Up to six (6) rotation blocks)
Where you train
Toronto, Ontario: 9 teaching sites.
- Sinai Health Systems (Mount Sinai Hospital)
- St. Michael’s Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- University Health Network (Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital and Princess Margaret Hospital)
- Women’s College Hospital
- Trillium Health Partners (Credit Valley Hospital & Mississauga Hospital) (Mississauga)
- St. Joseph’s Health Centre
- Michael Garron Hospital
- North York General Hospital
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 9, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 2.
Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Sinai Health Systems (Mount Sinai Hospital).
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Sinai Health Systems (Mount Sinai Hospital)
- Clinical record
- Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027
University Health Network (Toronto General Hospital, Toronto Western Hospital and Princess Margaret Hospital)
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Trillium Health Partners (Credit Valley Hospital & Mississauga Hospital)
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
North York General Hospital
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Toronto
People
2,794,356residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.0%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components, CMG stream
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Application file components, IMG stream
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 21, 22, 25, 26 and 27 Jan 2027
- Format, CMG stream
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Format, IMG stream
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
The 3 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.
16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 53 | 3 years | 5 dates, 21–27 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 12 | 3 years | 5 dates, 21–27 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 53 | 5 years | 5 dates, 22–28 Jan 2026 |
| IMG stream | 12 | 5 years | 5 dates, 22–28 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Toronto's Internal Medicine Program is a comprehensive three-year specialty training program designed to develop outstanding physicians who are skilled clinicians with well-developed competencies across all CanMEDS roles.
- The program offers a broad spectrum of clinical and research experiences, with a strong commitment to equity, diversity, and patient-centered care.
- Research
- Mandatory scholarly project in PGY2-PGY3, with options for clinical, health services, quality and safety research, and opportunities in Clinician-Scientist and Clinician-Educator Programs.
- Training setting
- Fully integrated urban training program across multiple academic and community hospitals in Toronto, with approximately 65-70 residents in each PGY1-3 year level.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education focused on developing well-rounded physicians through progressive learning, frequent formative assessments, and targeted skill development across the CanMEDS roles.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV Review
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal Letter
- Reference Letters
- Interview Performance
- Leadership Skills
- Communication Skills
- Collaborative Abilities
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Rodrigo Cavalcanti
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Core IM Team, Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit, except where the original has since been deleted: those show only our own short description.
Medical student describes IM resident call frequency and roles by yearTopics: call
Friends of residents describe Toronto IM call volume and backup activationsTopics: call · service
- Canadian IM Programs – Pros and Cons Thread (opens Reddit in a new tab)
U of T IM resident on base sites, staff, program redesign, activationsTopics: call · service · teaching
Internal Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Toronto
Did this page answer your question?