Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Internal Medicine

McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
22 positions
4 positions
Length
4 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
26–50%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience details under How they choose

Interviews

2 dates, 23–30 Jan 2027virtual

3 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Each year, three PGY3 residents can take a fully funded, competitive one-month elective in Uganda, with a reciprocal exchange.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Resident-developed Social Medicine rotation covering shelter health, refugee health, harm reduction and substance use care.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Competitive longitudinal research pathway that gives one protected research day in each clinical rotation.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McMaster's Internal Medicine residency is a three-year core program with a fourth year as an extension for residents who do not match to a subspecialty.
  • Training uses five Hamilton hospitals, and CTU rotations take place at St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton and Hamilton General Hospital.
  • Residents spend two months in intensive care in PGY1, and senior call is mostly done through night float.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Underserved urban
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • medicine subspecialties4-5 blocks
  • General Medicine Clinical Teaching Units (CTU)4 blocks
  • Intensive Care2 blocks
  • Ambulatory Care Clinics2 blocks
  • non-medicine rotations: emergency medicine, radiology0-1 block
PGY-2
  • Senior Medical Resident on General Medicine CTUs2 hospital sites3.5 blocks
  • Nephrology1 - 2 blocks in PGY2, 0 -1 block in PGY3
  • Cardiology2 blocks
  • Ambulatory care clinics alone or combined with research2 blocks
  • Night Float1.5 blocks
  • Intensive Care1 block
  • Community Elective in GIM1 block
PGY-3
  • Teaching Medical Resident on General Medicine CTU2 blocks
  • Choice between Junior Attending or Directed Selective1 block
  • ICU1 block
  • CCU1 block
  • Community GIM1 block
  • Hybrid ER Consult/Ward rotation1 block
  • Night Float1 block
PGY-1
  • General Medicine Clinical Teaching Units (CTU)4 blocks
  • Intensive Care2 blocks
  • Ambulatory Care Clinics2 blocks
  • non-medicine rotations: emergency medicine, radiology0-1 block
PGY-2
  • Senior Medical Resident on General Medicine CTUs2 hospital sites3.5 blocks
  • Nephrology1 - 2 blocks in PGY2, 0 -1 block in PGY3
  • Cardiology2 blocks
  • Ambulatory care clinics alone or combined with research2 blocks in PGY2 or PGY3
  • Intensive Care1 block
  • Community Elective in GIM1 block
  • Night Float1.5 blocks in two-week increments
  • pre-CARMS electives outside of Hamiltonoutside of HamiltonMaximum three blocks
  • Medicine subspecialties
PGY-3
  • Electivesmaximum 3 blocks pre-CARMS
  • Teaching Medical Resident on General Medicine CTU2 blocks
  • Ambulatory care clinics alone or combined with research2 blocks in PGY2 or PGY3
  • Choice between Junior Attending or Directed Selective1 block
  • ICU1 block
  • CCU1 block in either PGY2 or PGY3
  • Community GIM1 block
  • Hybrid ER Consult/Ward rotation1 block
  • Night Float1 block in two-week increments
  • Medicine subspecialties
  • Research

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.

  • St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
  • Hamilton General Hospital
  • Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre
  • McMaster University Medical Centre
  • St. Peter's hospital
  • Waterloo Regional Campus (rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 6; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre, McMaster University Medical Centre.

St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton

Clinical record
Epic (Dovetale), fully electronic record since Dec 2017 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
23 and 30 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 21 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float · frequency “maximum 1:4 to as low as 1:6”
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream224 years2 dates, 23–30 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream44 years3 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream225 years2 dates, 24–31 Jan 2026
IMG stream45 years3 dates, 20–29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McMaster's Internal Medicine Residency Program is a fast-paced, skill-intensive training experience that develops exceptional internal medicine physicians.
  • The program provides comprehensive training across multiple clinical settings, with a strong emphasis on resident development, leadership, and academic excellence.
Research
Residents are provided research time, mentorship from world-renowned researchers, and opportunities for projects with potential funding through multiple grant sources.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center in Hamilton, Ontario, with training across five hospitals serving a population of up to 1.5 million people, providing diverse clinical experiences and exposure to varying levels of medical complexity.
Teaching approach
A resident-centered approach emphasizing Competency-Based Medical Education, with a focus on developing well-rounded physicians through structured learning, mentorship, and progressive independence.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal Letter
  • Reference Letters
  • CV/Resume
  • Interview Performance
  • Leadership Experience
  • Research Activities

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities · 41 km

    14 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Waterloo - Internal MedicineMcMaster University

    Waterloo · 57 km

    4 positions · CMG

  • Toronto - Internal MedicineUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 59 km

    65 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 22 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 22 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35248 (CMG stream), 36283 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream