Toronto - Hematological Pathology
University of TorontoToronto, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 4
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Toronto, 9 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Dedicated rotation time focused on diagnosis of lymphoid tissue.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Residents join University of Toronto Clinical Hematology academic half days alongside their own.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Toronto Hematological Pathology residency is a four-year Competence by Design program accredited by the Royal College.
- Training takes place across multiple Toronto-area sites, including University Health Network, SickKids, Mount Sinai, Unity Health and Sunnybrook.
- Residents are expected to complete a supervised research project, and research time is protected.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Where you train
Toronto, Ontario: 9 teaching sites.
- The University Health Network
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Unity Health (St. Michael's Hospital & St. Joseph's Health Centre)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Michael Garron Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Trillium Health Partners
- Dynacare
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 9, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 2.
Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
The University Health Network
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
The Hospital for Sick Children
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Mount Sinai Hospital
- Clinical record
- Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
Unity Health (St. Michael's Hospital & St. Joseph's Health Centre)
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027
North York General Hospital
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Trillium Health Partners
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Toronto
People
2,794,356residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.0%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 4 years | Nothing noted | |
| IMG stream | 1 | 4 years | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Toronto offers a comprehensive 4-year Hematological Pathology residency program with extensive clinical exposure across multiple teaching hospitals.
- The program provides residents with a wide spectrum of clinical material, from routine to complex cases, and emphasizes research, academic development, and competency-based medical education.
- Research
- Extensive research opportunities at basic science and clinical laboratory levels, with protected research time and a dedicated research director.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical centers across multiple hospitals in Toronto, including large tertiary care centers and community hospitals with extensive clinical resources.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive skill development through four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core of Discipline, and Transition to Practice.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Research activities
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Larissa Liontos
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Postgraduate Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Hematological Pathology elsewhere
Nearest to Toronto
Did this page answer your question?
