Edmonton - Hematological Pathology
University of AlbertaEdmonton, Alberta
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 4
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 19 Jan 2027
Not stated on the IMG stream’s CaRMS page
Edmonton, 10 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Exposure to the largest transfusion medicine service in North America, which is internationally accredited.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Digital pathology network, including CellaVision morphology review, supporting more than six remote sites.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Alberta Hematological Pathology program is a 4-year residency based at the University of Alberta Hospital / Stollery Children's Hospital.
- Training in hemostasis and coagulation, transfusion medicine, and adult and pediatric hematopathology is longitudinal throughout the program.
- Residents take 1 in 3 home call during laboratory rotations and must complete a scholarly/research project.
- The program is small, generally taking one to two residents per year.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- molecular pathology
- cellular therapy
- immunogenetics
- hemoglobinopathy assessment
- Adult Hematology clinical rotations
- Medical Oncology
- Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
- Bone Marrow/ Stem Cell Transplant (BMT/SCT) (Calgary)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Adult Hematology clinical rotations
- Medical Oncology
- Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
- Bone Marrow/ Stem Cell Transplant (BMT/SCT) (Calgary)
Where you train
Edmonton, Alberta: 10 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- University of Alberta Hospital / Stollery Children's Hospital
- Alberta Precision Base Laboratory
- Cross Cancer Institute
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Grey Nuns Hospital
- Calgary Foothills Hospital/ Tom Baker Cancer Center (Calgary)
- Misericordia Community Hospital
- Sturgeon Community Hospital
- Grande Prairie Regional Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- Northern Lights (rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 8 of 10; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Edmonton
People
1,010,899residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not required · all residents
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Not required · all residents
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 19 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- Not stated on the IMG stream’s CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- Home call · frequency “1 in 3”
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 4 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 4 years | 1 date, 19 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 4 years |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Alberta Hematological Pathology Residency Program is a comprehensive 4-year training program designed to develop competent consultants in all areas of hematopathology practice.
- The program focuses on producing specialists with excellent diagnostic skills, leadership qualities, and the ability to contribute to multidisciplinary patient-centered care.
- Research
- Ample opportunities for clinical and basic research, with dedicated scholarly concentration time and departmental support for research projects.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical center in Edmonton, Alberta, with training across multiple hospitals and laboratory sites including academic, community, and rural settings.
- Teaching approach
- A Competence by Design (CBD) approach focusing on progressive skill development through four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core of Discipline, and Transition to Practice.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Interview performance
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Tessa Boyer
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Hematological Pathology elsewhere
Nearest to Edmonton
Did this page answer your question?