Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Hematological Pathology

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
4 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Halifax, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Training includes a tissue typing laboratory, which the program describes as world class.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The program is the provincial reference laboratory for blood transfusion services.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Conference funding of $3,000 a year for PGY2–4 residents who present their work.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie's Hematological Pathology residency is a 4-year program with one CaRMS position, based at the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax.
  • Pediatric hematopathology and maternofetal transfusion medicine training takes place at the nearby IWK Health Centre.
  • During Transition to Practice, residents complete one community block at Saint John Regional Hospital.
  • Residents can use protected research time, and they must present at the departmental research day in PGY2 through PGY4.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • community rotation (Transition to Practice · 1 block · Saint John Regional Hospital)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 5 teaching sites.

  • QEII Health Sciences Centre
  • Mackenzie Building
  • Halifax Infirmary
  • IWK Health Centre
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (St. John · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3 of 5; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

4 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

QEII Health Sciences Centre

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary

Halifax Infirmary

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary
Show facts for 1 more sites

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Halifax.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream14 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years1 date, 8 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Hematological Pathology Residency Program at Dalhousie University offers comprehensive training in a collaborative and collegial atmosphere.
  • Located in Halifax, the program prepares residents to become safe and competent hematopathologists with opportunities for leadership and patient-centered care in Atlantic Canada.
Research
Abundant opportunities to pursue basic science and applied clinical research, with protected research time, conference presentation support, and annual research day.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Halifax, Nova Scotia, including QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax Infirmary, and IWK Health Centre, with additional training at Saint John Regional Hospital in New Brunswick.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) using Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and progressive independence through stages of training from Transition to Discipline to Transition to Practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Reference letters
  • Research interest
  • Communication skills
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Tish O'Reilly

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officepathres@dal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Hematological Pathology elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

  • Toronto, ON · 1,264 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Winnipeg, MB · 2,575 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Edmonton, AB · 3,684 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35603 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?