Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly

University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
Not stated on CaRMS page
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Toronto, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Weekly seminar series held jointly with U of T PGY4/5 geriatric medicine residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated Geriatric Emergency Medicine block rotation.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Movement Disorders rotation at Baycrest.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Toronto Care of the Elderly program is a twelve-month PGY3 program training family physicians in assessment and management of older adults.
  • Block rotations in inpatient geriatrics, palliative care, geriatric emergency medicine and rehabilitation run alongside horizontal clinics, plus one month of electives.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Acute Care of the Elderly (North York General Hospital)
  • Inpatient Geriatrics (St. Michael's Hospital)
  • Sub-Acute Hospital / Complex Continuing Care (Baycrest Hospital)
  • Chronic Non-Malignant Palliative Care (North York General Hospital)
  • Palliative Care Unit / Consults (Baycrest Hospital)
  • Home-Based Palliative Care (Mount Sinai Temmy Latner Palliative Care Centre)
  • Geriatric Emergency Medicine (St. Joseph's Hospital)
  • Geriatric Rehabilitation (Toronto Rehabilitation Institute)
  • Movement Disorders (Baycrest)
  • elective time (One month)
  • Family Medicine
  • Geriatric Assessment Clinic (Geriatric Medicine)
  • Geriatric Mental Health Outreach Team (Geriatric Psychiatry)
  • Frail Elderly Home Visit Team
  • Long-term Care
  • Memory Clinic

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.

  • Baycrest
  • North York General Hospital
  • St. Michael's Hospital
  • Mount Sinai Temmy Latner Palliative Care Centre
  • St. Joseph's Hospital
  • Toronto Rehabilitation Institute

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 6, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

North York General Hospital

Clinical record
Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Michael's Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Joseph's Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Evan Chong

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Assistant

Write to the officefammed.enhanced@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 14 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34635 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?