Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly

McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
Not stated on CaRMS page
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 28 Oct 2026virtual

Hamilton, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page

What stands out about this program

  • Horizontal wound care experience of 1.5-2 days during the academic block.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Two blocks on hospital-based medically complex, restorative care and behavioural health units led by Family Medicine faculty.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 12-month Care of the Elderly program with its primary practice setting in the Hamilton area.
  • Training includes inpatient and outpatient geriatric consultations, palliative care, geriatric psychiatry and clinical pharmacology, plus longitudinal family medicine clinics, long-term care and wound care.
  • Three academic blocks include a scholarly component of 2-3 days a week.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • family_practice_continuity
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Medically Complex/Restorative Care/Behavioural Health Unit (2)
  • Inpatient consultations (1)
  • Outpatient consultations (2)
  • Geriatric psychiatry (1)
  • Palliative Care (1)
  • Clinical pharmacology (1)
  • Electives (2)
  • Academic block (3)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
28 Oct 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Henry Siu

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 28 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34673 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?