Skip to content
CdnMD

Peel & Surrounding Communities - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly

Toronto Metropolitan UniversityPeel & Surrounding Communities, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 9 Nov 2026virtual

Peel & Surrounding Communities, 5 teaching sites

A car is recommended

Also at TMU, applied for at the school: FM/ES programs through Ontario’s physician re-entry program, on TMU’s page of programs applied for at the school · 1 year full time · practising physicians · no single close date stated (as of 10 Oct 2026)

Not through CaRMS: you apply to TMU, on its own dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

What stands out about this program

  • Dedicated time connecting with seniors in non-clinical community settings such as seniors' centres.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Opportunity to attend the accredited Five Weekend Care of the Elderly Certificate Course.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • A block rotation with GeriMedRisk.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 1-year Care of the Elderly enhanced-skills program delivered in community and inpatient settings serving Peel and surrounding communities.
  • Training combines block rotations with longitudinal placements, plus two electives.
  • Residents complete a scholarly project on older adults with dedicated time provided.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is recommended

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Wound Care (BLOCK ROTATIONS · ½ Block (2 weeks))
  • Rehab (BLOCK ROTATIONS · ½ Block (2 weeks))
  • Geriatrics (BLOCK ROTATIONS · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Palliative Care (BLOCK ROTATIONS · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Acute Care (Acute Care of the Elderly/Hospitalist) (BLOCK ROTATIONS · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Movement Disorders Clinic (BLOCK ROTATIONS · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • GeriMedRisk (BLOCK ROTATIONS · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Seniors Mental Health (BLOCK ROTATIONS · 1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Home Visits (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Long-Term Care (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Memory Clinic (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Seniors Primary Care Clinic (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Home visits for frail home-bound seniors (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Pessary Clinic (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Osteoporosis Clinic (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Complex Medicine Clinic (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Appropriate Prescribing (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)
  • Allied health experience (Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, SLP, Hospitalist Elder Life Program) (LONGITUDINAL ROTATIONS)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Peel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario: 5 teaching sites. A car is recommended.

  • William Osler Health System
  • Trillium Health Partners
  • Headwaters Health Care Centre
  • Halton Healthcare
  • Peel Region

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 5, MEDITECH at 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

William Osler Health System

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Oct 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Trillium Health Partners

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Headwaters Health Care Centre

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 1 more sites

Halton Healthcare

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, fully electronic record since Nov 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

This location covers more than one place, so its figures are on each place’s own page.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
9 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Katarina Lakovic

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officepgme.es.coe@torontomu.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly elsewhere

Nearest to Peel & Surrounding Communities

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 28 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34645 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?