Thunder Bay - Psychiatry
NOSM UniversityThunder Bay, OntarioCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2027
Thunder Bay, 4 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Distributed program across four Northern Ontario cities; residents may spend up to 18 months away from home site.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Travel and housing supported by NOSM U for core rotations away from the primary site.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- NOSM University's five-year Psychiatry program is a single integrated program distributed across North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay.
- Residents matched to this site make Thunder Bay their home base and may spend up to 18 months at other program sites.
- NOSM U supports travel and housing for core rotations away from the primary site, and residents are expected to complete a research project.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- combination of Psychiatry Inpatient/Outpatient (Transition to Discipline · first 3 blocks PGY1)
- Addictions (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Neurology (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Family Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Emergency Psychiatry (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Selectives/Elective (Foundations I · 4 Blocks)
- Personalized Learning in Psychiatry (Foundations II · 1 Block)
- Inpatient Psychiatry (Foundations II · 6 Blocks)
- Outpatient Psychiatry (Foundations II · 6 Blocks)
- Longitudinal Psychotherapy training (Core of Discipline · weekly basis during the entirety of Core)
- Geriatric Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 6 Blocks)
- Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 6 Blocks)
- SPMI training (3 blocks inpatient and 3 blocks community/outpatient) (Core of Discipline · 6 blocks)
- Addictions medicine/psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 2-3 blocks)
- Consultation Liaison Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 3-4 blocks)
- Collaborative/shared care (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Personalized learning year in Psychiatry (Transition to Practice)
Where you train
Thunder Bay, Ontario: 4 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- Thunder Bay
- North Bay (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
- Sudbury (Sudbury · rural or distributed site)
- Sault Ste. Marie (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 3 of 4; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019
Thunder Bay
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page.
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Thunder Bay
People
108,843residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−13.4 °CJanuary mean18.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 29 and 30 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
11 Psychiatry info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 2 dates, 3–4 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
NOSM University's Psychiatry Program is a single, integrated program distributed across four primary sites: North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie, and Thunder Bay. The program is dedicated to training future psychiatrists who are well-prepared to serve in underserved, rural, and remote communities, with learners gaining valuable experience working with vulnerable populations facing acute and complex mental health and addiction needs.
- Research
- Residents are expected to complete a research project, with support from a dedicated Research Coordinator and opportunities to present at the annual Resident Research Day.
- Training setting
- A distributed training environment across four northern Ontario sites: Thunder Bay, North Bay, Sudbury, and Sault Ste. Marie, with opportunities to train in urban, rural, and remote clinical settings.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on workplace-based assessment, frequent authentic feedback, and competency-based progression through stages of training.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV review
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Interview performance
- Academic history
- Elective experiences
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Kathleen Anderson
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Psychiatry elsewhere
Nearest to Thunder Bay
Did this page answer your question?