Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Interlake Eastern - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaRural Interlake Eastern, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions−1 from 5 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

Rural Interlake Eastern, 6 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in Manitoba: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Two weeks of designated airway training with a Family Practice-Anesthesia physician, including rapid sequence intubation.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Exposure to community oncology care at a CancerCare Manitoba Community site with Family Physicians in Oncology.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • One-week placement at Percy E. Moore Hospital focused on working within an Indigenous community.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year family medicine program is based mainly in Selkirk, with additional rotations in Winnipeg and rural Interlake-Eastern communities.
  • Family medicine block time is at Selkirk Medical Associates, and residents care for admitted patients at Selkirk Regional Health Centre.
  • Second year includes an eight-week rural family medicine rotation in communities such as Gimli or Lac du Bonnet.
  • Residents must hold a driver's licence and have access to a reliable vehicle.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Indigenous health
Research
Offered
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • FAMILY MEDICINESelkirk Medical Centre22 Weeks Core
  • INTERNAL MEDICINEWinnipeg at Health Sciences Centre or the St. Boniface Hospital8 Weeks – Core
  • OBSTETRICSWinnipeg at either Health Sciences Centre or the St. Boniface Hospital8 Weeks – Core
  • PEDIATRIC EMERGENCY MEDICINEChildren’s Hospital4 Weeks – Core
  • ELECTIVES4 Weeks Core
  • AIRWAY2 Weeks – Part of the Family Medicine Core
PGY-2
  • FAMILY MEDICINESelkirk Medical Centre16 Weeks Core
  • RURAL FAMILY MEDICINEInterlake-Eastern Regional Health Authority such as Gimli or Lac du Bonnet8 Weeks – Core
  • SURGERY4 Weeks – Core
  • ICU / CCUWinnipeg hospital4 Weeks - Core
  • PEDIATRICS OUT-PATIENTChildren’s Hospital or St. Boniface Hospital sites in Winnipeg and a Community Pediatric Clinic4 Weeks – Core
  • PALLIATIVE CAREWinnipeg4 weeks – Core
  • ELECTIVES4 Weeks Core

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • EMERGENCY MEDICINE AT SELKIRK REGIONAL HEALTH CENTRE (LONGITUDINAL EXPERIENCES DURING RESIDENCY · horizontal through 2 years · Selkirk Regional Health Centre)
  • OBSTETRICS AT SELKIRK REGIONAL HEALTH CENTRE (LONGITUDINAL EXPERIENCES DURING RESIDENCY · horizontal through 2 years · Selkirk Regional Health Centre)
  • BEHAVIOURAL MEDICINE (LONGITUDINAL EXPERIENCES DURING RESIDENCY · horizontal through 2 years)
  • NUTRITION EDUCATION & CARE (LONGITUDINAL EXPERIENCES DURING RESIDENCY · horizontal through 2 years)
PGY-1
  • FAMILY MEDICINESelkirk Medical Centre22 Weeks Core
  • INTERNAL MEDICINEHealth Sciences Centre or the St. Boniface Hospital8 Weeks – Core
  • OBSTETRICSHealth Sciences Centre or the St. Boniface Hospital8 Weeks – Core
  • PEDIATRIC EMERGENCY MEDICINEChildren’s Hospital4 Weeks – Core
  • ELECTIVES4 Weeks Core
  • VACATION4 Weeks Core
  • AIRWAY2 Weeks – Part of the Family Medicine Core
PGY-2
  • FAMILY MEDICINESelkirk Medical Centre16 Weeks Core
  • RURAL FAMILY MEDICINEInterlake-Eastern Regional Health Authority such as Gimli or Lac du Bonnet8 Weeks – Core
  • SURGERY4 Weeks – Core
  • ICU / CCUWinnipeg hospital4 Weeks - Core
  • PEDIATRICS OUT-PATIENTChildren’s Hospital or St. Boniface Hospital sites in Winnipeg and a Community Pediatric Clinic4 Weeks – Core
  • PALLIATIVE CAREWinnipeg4 weeks – Core
  • ELECTIVES4 Weeks Core
  • VACATION4 weeks – core

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • EMERGENCY MEDICINE AT SELKIRK REGIONAL HEALTH CENTRE (LONGITUDINAL EXPERIENCES DURING RESIDENCY · horizontal through 2 years · Selkirk Regional Health Centre)
  • OBSTETRICS AT SELKIRK REGIONAL HEALTH CENTRE (LONGITUDINAL EXPERIENCES DURING RESIDENCY · horizontal through 2 years · Selkirk Regional Health Centre)
  • BEHAVIOURAL MEDICINE (LONGITUDINAL EXPERIENCES DURING RESIDENCY · horizontal through 2 years)
  • NUTRITION EDUCATION & CARE (LONGITUDINAL EXPERIENCES DURING RESIDENCY · horizontal through 2 years)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rural Interlake Eastern, Manitoba: 6 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • Selkirk Medical Centre (Selkirk)
  • Selkirk Regional Health Centre (Selkirk)
  • Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
  • St. Boniface Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Children’s Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Percy E. Moore Hospital (rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 4 of 6; no published record for 2.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre; St. Boniface Hospital; Children’s Hospital; Percy E. Moore Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface Hospital, Children’s Hospital, Percy E. Moore Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream42 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • Positions 5 → 4 from the 2026 match
IMG stream12 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027PanelNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream52 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream12 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba Family Medicine Rural Interlake Eastern stream offers a comprehensive two-year residency program focused on training well-rounded family physicians for rural practice.
  • Residents receive hands-on training in diverse clinical settings, with over 75% of graduated residents becoming rural physicians.
Research
The Department of Family Medicine provides opportunities to perform research with practical outcomes, supporting research skill development through workshops for residents.
Training setting
Training occurs in Winnipeg, Selkirk, and rural communities within the Interlake-Eastern region, with the majority of time spent in Selkirk. Residents work in both clinic and hospital settings, including Selkirk Medical Centre and Selkirk Regional Health Centre.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, interprofessional collaboration, and hands-on learning across diverse clinical environments.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC score
  • Personal letter
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Resume
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rural Interlake Eastern

  • Winnipeg - Family MedicineUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg · 86 km

    22 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
  • Bilingual-French · 87 km

    4 positions · Competitive

    Bilingual
  • Rural Portage la Prairie · 123 km

    7 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 4 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 4 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36322 (CMG stream), 36101 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream