Saskatoon - Anesthesiology
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 6
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 24 Jan 2027
Saskatoon, 10 teaching sites · required rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Monthly confidential 'Bear Pit' sessions between residents and the program director.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
No local anesthesia fellows, giving residents more hands-on learning opportunities.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Residents complete a 500-level university course in their first year to prepare research projects.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a five-year Royal College-accredited anesthesiology residency at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon, using 4-week blocks.
- Training spans three adult hospitals and a children's hospital, with required rural anesthesia experience outside Saskatoon and Regina.
- Research is mandatory with protected time, and the program includes a point-of-care ultrasound curriculum.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Boot Camp (Transition to Discipline · month-long)
- general anesthesia (Transition to Discipline · a minimum of one block)
- Obstetrics (Foundations and Core)
- Pediatrics (Foundations and Core)
- Medicine (Foundations and Core)
- Critical care (Foundations and Core)
Where you train
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 10 teaching sites; required rural rotation.
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Prairieview Surgical Center
- Regina General Hospital (Regina)
- Pasqua Hospital (Regina)
- Regina Surgical Center (Regina)
- Children's Dental World (Regina)
- Victoria Union Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 6 of 10; no published record for 4.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Saskatoon
People
266,141residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 24 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
11 Anesthesiology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 6 | 5 years | 1 date, 24 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 7 | 5 years | 1 date, 25 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Saskatchewan offers a fully accredited 5-year Anesthesiology residency program that provides comprehensive training across multiple hospital sites.
- The program emphasizes competency-based medical education, research, simulation, and individualized learning experiences for residents.
- Research
- Research is mandatory, with protected research time, annual research day presentations, and dedicated research support within the department.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple urban and rural sites in Saskatchewan, including Royal University Hospital, Saskatoon City Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, Jim Pattison Children's Hospital, and various rural healthcare facilities.
- Teaching approach
- The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education approach, focusing on individualized learning, progressive independence, and holistic professional development through structured rotations and ongoing assessment.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV content
- Electives performance
- Casper test
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/publications
- Academic transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Eugene Choo
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
From residents
Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Anesthesiology elsewhere
Nearest to Saskatoon
Did this page answer your question?


