Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - General Surgery

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions+2 from 3 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Interviews

2 dates, 19–20 Jan 2027virtual

Québec, 10 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Mandatory first-year 4-week simulation rotation with FLS and FES certifications obtained at its end.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional trauma rotations outside Quebec City, with arrangements planned with Vancouver and Toronto.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year general surgery residency at Université Laval, based at CHU de Québec hospitals and IUCPQ with regional rotations.
  • First year includes a mandatory 4-week laparoscopy and endoscopy simulation rotation leading to FLS and FES certification.
  • Residents must complete two research projects, and interviews are virtual and conducted in French.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • stage d'introduction à la chirurgie et initiation aux compétences transversales4 semaines

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • colorectale (troisième et quatrième années)
  • chirurgie du sein (troisième et quatrième années)
  • hépato-biliaire (troisième et quatrième années)
  • soins aigus (troisième et quatrième années)
  • thoracique (troisième et quatrième années)
  • traumatologie (troisième et quatrième années)
  • vasculaire (troisième et quatrième années)
  • pédiatrique (troisième et quatrième années)
  • Anesthésie-réanimation (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Chirurgie cardiaque (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Chirurgie orthopédique (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Chirurgie pédiatrique (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Chirurgie thoracique (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Chirurgie bariatrique (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Gastroentérologie (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Introduction à la méthodologie scientifique (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Neurochirurgie (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Obstétrique-gynécologie (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Oto-rhino-laryngologie (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Pathologie chirurgicale (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Plastie - unité des brûlés (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Radio-oncologie (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Soins intensifs (Stages cliniques à option)
  • Urologie (Stages cliniques à option)
  • unité d'enseignement clinique en chirurgie générale (cinquième et dernière année)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 10 teaching sites.

  • Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
  • Hôpital St-François d'Assise
  • Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval
  • Hôpital du St-Sacrement
  • Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
  • IUCPQ
  • CISSS de Chaudière-Appalache (rural or distributed site)
  • CISSS de la Côte-Nord (rural or distributed site)
  • CISSS du Lac St-Jean (rural or distributed site)
  • CISSS de Sept-Iles (Sept-Iles · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 5 of 10; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

6 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, Hôpital St-François d'Assise, Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval, Hôpital du St-Sacrement.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

Matched to L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

Hôpital St-François d'Assise

Matched to Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254

Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Show facts for 3 more sites

Hôpital du St-Sacrement

Matched to Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
Licensed beds
physical health 111

Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335

IUCPQ

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not required · this stream

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19 and 20 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

18 General Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream55 years2 dates, 19–20 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 3 → 5 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamQuébec - Chirurgie générale35 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval General Surgery Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program focused on developing competent general surgeons.
  • The program emphasizes both clinical skills and theoretical knowledge, with a strong commitment to simulation training and research, preparing residents to provide high-quality surgical care across various clinical contexts.
Research
Residents are required to complete two research projects with dedicated supervisor support, with potential for a master's research degree.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Quebec City, including multiple hospital sites within the CHU de Québec network and regional healthcare centers across Quebec.
Teaching approach
Competency-based training with progressive independence, emphasizing simulation, practical skills, and comprehensive theoretical education through weekly academic half-days and diverse learning modalities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance (DREM)
  • Surgical and non-surgical clinical rotations
  • Interview performance
  • Reference letters
  • Research activities
  • Leadership potential

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) ALEXANDRE BRIND'AMOURDirecteur de programme

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Responsable des admissions, Agent de gestion des études, Équipe Admission, and 1 more

Write to the officeprogrammechirurgie@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

General Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36232 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?