Montreal - General Surgery
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 6
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 1 Feb 2027
Montreal, 5 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Residents can earn an accredited robotic surgery training certification.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Optional international rotation in Benin during the fourth year.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Three-period upper and lower endoscopy rotation spread across three different sites.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- Université de Montréal's five-year General Surgery residency trains at five main sites, including CHUM, Trois-Rivières and Cité de la Santé in Laval.
- The first 15 periods are surgical foundations, including general surgery, surgical ICU, trauma, anesthesia, microbiology and research rotations.
- Residents do a three-period endoscopy rotation across three sites, and interviews are virtual.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
By year
- PGY-3
- endoscopie digestive3 périodes
Other rotations
- boot camp (Fondements chirurgicaux)
- chirurgie générale (Fondements chirurgicaux · la moitié de l'année)
- soins intensifs chirurgicaux (Fondements chirurgicaux)
- traumatologie (Fondements chirurgicaux)
- anesthésie et douleur (Fondements chirurgicaux)
- microbiologie (Fondements chirurgicaux)
- recherche (Fondements chirurgicaux)
- chirurgie pédiatrique
- vasculaire
- thoracique
- milieu communautaire
- stage à option (3 périodes)
- transplantation abdominale
Where you train
Montreal, Quebec: 5 teaching sites.
- CHUM (Montréal)
- CIUSSS-del'est-de-l'ile-de-Montréal (Montréal)
- CIUSSS-du-nord-de-l'ile-de-Montréal (Montréal)
- Hopital de Trois Rivières (Trois-Rivières)
- Hopital de la Cité de la Santé à Laval (Laval)
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 5, TELUS at 1; no published record for 3.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Clinical record
- OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hopital de la Cité de la Santé à Laval
- Clinical record
- Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
- Licensed beds
- physical health 438 · psychiatry 51
Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments.
About Montréal
People
1,762,949residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 1 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
18 General Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 6 | 5 years | 1 date, 1 Feb 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 5 | 5 years | 1 date as the CaRMS page writes it |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
The Université de Montréal General Surgery Residency Program offers comprehensive surgical training across multiple specialties in Montreal, preparing residents for diverse practice settings through extensive clinical exposure, progressive autonomy, and a strong academic foundation.
- Research
- Extensive research opportunities through clinician-researcher program with options for Master's and PhD degrees
- Training setting
- Urban medical centers in Montreal, including CHUM, CIUSSS-de-l'est-de-l'ile-de-Montréal, CIUSSS-du-nord-de-l'ile-de-Montréal, Trois Rivières Hospital, and Cité de la Santé Hospital in Laval
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive autonomy, focusing on CanMEDS roles and developing comprehensive surgical skills through structured clinical exposure and simulation-based learning
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Academic performance
- Research portfolio
- Motivation letter
- Reference letters
- CV
- Interview performance
- CanMEDS role assessment
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr(e) Erica PatocskaiDirectrice de Programme
Adam Di PalmaDirecteur-adjoint
- Program office
Adjointes du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
General Surgery elsewhere
Nearest to Montreal
- Bilingual
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?