Skip to content
CdnMD

Manicouagan - Family Medicine

Université LavalManicouagan, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions+1 from 7 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

Manicouagan, 5 teaching sites · 1 rural weeks

A car is recommended

After residency in Quebec: fee-for-service; a new model is agreed but not in force yet

What stands out about this program

  • Required week of Indigenous health at the Innu community of Pessamit, plus ongoing clinics there.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Family physicians admit nearly all patients at Hôpital Le Royer; 16–18 weeks of integrated hospital care.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Free point-of-care ultrasound certification offered to regional-site residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year Université Laval family medicine program is based at the GMF-U Manicouagan in Baie-Comeau, about 400 km east of Québec City.
  • Residents complete 20 of 24 periods in the region, with hospital training at Hôpital Le Royer, a roughly 100-bed regional centre.
  • The curriculum is highly integrated and longitudinal, and includes at least one week of Indigenous health at the Innu community of Pessamit in R2.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (1 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Early independence
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Other
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Urgence4 semaines
  • Périnatalité4 semaines
  • Soins critiques4 semaines
  • urgence2 semaines
  • hospitalisation2 semaines
  • médecine interne2 semaines
  • Fondation à la médecine de famille (période de transition)
PGY-2
  • Stage à option (ou région) 14 semaines
  • Stage à option (ou région) 24 semaines
  • Stage à option (ou région) 34 semaines
  • Soins aux personnes âgées et soins palliatifs4 semaines
  • équité en santé2 semaines
  • santé mentale2 semaines
  • Santé autochtoneCentre de santé de Pessamitune semaine complète

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Manicouagan, Quebec: 5 teaching sites; 1 rural weeks. A car is recommended.

  • GMF-U de Manicouagan (Baie-Comeau)
  • Hôpital Le Royer (Baie-Comeau)
  • CLSC Lionel-Charest (Baie-Comeau)
  • Centre de santé de Pessamit (Pessamit · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre Apprentiss (Québec)

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 5 of 5.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures where the province publishes them

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Hôpital Le Royer

Matched to CLSC et Hôpital le Royer (Baie-Comeau) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,883 · 2026–2027: 8,858 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 53 · psychiatry 15 · geriatrics 18 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Baie-Comeau

  • People

    20,687residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Baie-Comeau

  • Housing

    1.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Baie-Comeau, Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −13.4 °CJanuary mean16.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Baie-Comeau, 10.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Baie-Comeau (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · this stream
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les candidats DIM, l’entrevue est complétée par 3 ECOS (Examen Clinique Objectif et Structuré) de 10 minutes chacun permettant d’évaluer la capacité clinique.”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 8 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 9 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Manicouagan.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream82 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 7 → 8 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamManicouagan - Médecine familiale72 years5 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Family Medicine Residency Program in Manicouagan aims to train comprehensive family physicians capable of providing high-quality, continuous healthcare.
  • The program emphasizes a holistic approach to patient care, focusing on scientific knowledge, clinical experience, and understanding patients' personal contexts.
Research
Includes a scholarly project focused on quality improvement and leadership, supervised by a GMF-U teacher.
Training setting
Located in Baie-Comeau, 400 km east of Quebec City, the program offers training in a regional hospital with approximately 100 beds, serving a population of 44,000 across two municipalities.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with an integrated learning approach, emphasizing progressive independence, reflective practice, and holistic patient care across various clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • Clinical stage evaluations
  • Mid-stage assessments
  • Progression reports
  • Clinical decision certification

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Samuel Boudreault

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Manicouagan

  • Rimouski · 90 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • Trois-Pistoles · 142 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Rural
  • de Maria - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    de Maria · 196 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35783 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?