Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Radiation Oncology

Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 25 Jan 2027virtual

Montreal, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Exposure to CyberKnife radiosurgery, LDR/HDR brachytherapy and intraoperative radiotherapy.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Option to do radiation oncology rotations in the McGill or Université Laval networks.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year radiation oncology residency at Université de Montréal, with most required radiation oncology rotations at CHUM and Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont.
  • The first year covers medicine, surgery, palliative care and radiology, and a community rotation at Laval or Charles-Lemoyne is included.
  • Residents complete a research project, and most take 1 to 3 research periods.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • stage de transition à la disciplinedépartement de radio-oncologie du CHUM
  • soins palliatifs
  • chirurgie (ORL-oncologie, neurochirurgie, chirurgie générale ou gynéco-oncologie)
  • médecine interne (oncologie, pneumologie, médecine de nuit)
  • radiologie
  • neuro-radiologie
PGY-2
  • stages dans des sous-spécialités de la radio-oncologie
  • dosimétrie des photons
PGY-3
  • stages dans les différentes sous-spécialités de la radio-oncologie
PGY-5
  • dosimétrie en lien avec la radiochirurgie, l'irradiation pancorporelle et les autres techniques spécialisés

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • stage en milieu communautaire (Cité de la Santé de Laval, soit à l'Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne)
  • transition vers la pratique (3 à 9 mois)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 5 teaching sites.

  • CHUM (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR) (Montréal)
  • Cité de la Santé de Laval (Laval)
  • Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne
  • CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)

Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 5, Epic at 1, Purkinje-HM at 1, TELUS at 1; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

5 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUM

Clinical record
OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
Licensed beds
physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10

Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR)

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26

Cité de la Santé de Laval

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de la Cité-de-la-Santé (Laval) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
Licensed beds
physical health 438 · psychiatry 51
Show facts for 2 more sites

Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne

Clinical record
Purkinje-HM (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
Licensed beds
physical health 571

CHU Sainte-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

7 Radiation Oncology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream25 years1 date, 25 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamMontreal - Radio-oncologie25 yearsInterviews not stated
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Montréal Radio-oncologie program is a 5-year residency that began transitioning to Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) in 2019.
  • The program is distinguished by its friendly atmosphere, diverse professional faculty, and high-quality technical platform, offering residents exposure to advanced radiotherapy techniques like CyberKnife, brachytherapy, and adaptive radiotherapy.
Research
Residents are required to complete a research project, which can be clinical or fundamental, leading to a publication, oral presentation, or conference poster.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at CHUM and Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR) in Montreal, with additional rotations in community hospitals and pediatric oncology at CHU Sainte-Justine.
Teaching approach
A progressive, competency-based approach focusing on individual resident development, with increasing autonomy and responsibility throughout the 5-year program, emphasizing multidisciplinary learning and patient-centered care.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Reference letters
  • CV
  • Research activities
  • Interview performance
  • ECOS stations
  • CanMEDS competencies

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Radiation Oncology elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal · 0 km

    2 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Québec · 233 km

    3 positions · Regular, Regular (NRQ) RoS

  • Ottawa - Radiation OncologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 166 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 4 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36301 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?