Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Radiation Oncology

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Thu 12 Nov 2026,7:00 pm EST

Interviews

1 date, 28 Jan 2027virtual

Montreal, 9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Monthly MORE sessions jointly teach surgical, radiation and medical oncology trainees multidisciplinary management by disease site.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's Radiation Oncology residency is a 5-year program based at the McGill University Health Centre and the Jewish General Hospital in Montreal.
  • Residents complete at least one block in a community-based radiation oncology practice.
  • Monthly multidisciplinary sessions bring together surgical, radiation and medical oncology trainees, and interviews are held by video conference.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
English and French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • community-based radiation oncology practice (A minimum of one block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 9 teaching sites.

  • Cedars Cancer Centre - MUHC Glen Site
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • Montreal General Hospital
  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • Montreal Neurological Institute
  • Centre hospitalier de Gatineau (Gatineau)
  • Cité de la Santé
  • Charles Lemoyne

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 9, Purkinje-HM at 1, TELUS at 4; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

9 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Montreal General Hospital, Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Montreal Neurological Institute.

How to read the figures

  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.

Cedars Cancer Centre - MUHC Glen Site

Matched to Hôpital Glen (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 480 · psychiatry 8 · neonatology 52

Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

Montreal General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Show facts for 6 more sites

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

Montreal Neurological Institute

Matched to Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 90

Centre hospitalier de Gatineau

Matched to Hôpital de Gatineau (Gatineau) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,018 · 2026–2027: 15,386
Licensed beds
physical health 121 · psychiatry 40 · neonatology 37

Cité de la Santé

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de la Cité-de-la-Santé (Laval) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
Licensed beds
physical health 438 · psychiatry 51

Charles Lemoyne

Clinical record
Purkinje-HM (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream25 years1 date, 28 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream15 years1 date, 29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McGill's Radiation Oncology Residency Program offers comprehensive training in radiation oncology across multiple hospital sites in Montreal.
  • The 5-year program focuses on developing competent radiation oncologists who can function independently and become future leaders in the specialty, with strong emphasis on multidisciplinary training and patient care.
Research
Numerous research opportunities available in clinical research, basic science, education, quality improvement, global oncology, and artificial intelligence, with support from a research director.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple sites in Montreal, including Cedars Cancer Centre (MUHC Glen Site), Jewish General Hospital, Montreal General Hospital, Royal Victoria Hospital, and Montreal Children's Hospital, providing a diverse and comprehensive clinical training environment.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive responsibility, emphasizing apprenticeship-style learning, evidence-based management, and independent decision-making through supervised clinical rotations and multidisciplinary learning.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic background
  • Elective assessments
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Boris Bahoric

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeadmin.radonc@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Radiation Oncology elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal · 0 km

    2 positions · Regular

    French
  • Ottawa - Radiation OncologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 166 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Québec · 233 km

    3 positions · Regular, Regular (NRQ) RoS

    French

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35779 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?