Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Public Health and Preventive Medicine

Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Montreal, 10 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Accelerated pathway completes the master's in public health in four full-time terms, leaving more elective time.

    From “General instructions” on the CaRMS page

  • This five-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine program offers two pathways: a classic route with a two-year master's phase or an accelerated one-year master's.
  • Clinical rotations take place mainly in Montréal hospitals, the master's at the École de santé publique, and public health rotations mainly at the Direction régionale de santé publique de Montréal.
  • At least one four-week period in a rural region is mandatory.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Public health agency
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
Research
Offered · research project
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • médecine de famille (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
  • pédiatrie (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
  • médecine du travail (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
  • psychiatrie (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
  • infectiologie (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
  • médecine interne (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
  • cardiologie préventive (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
  • 3 stages à option cliniques (Option #1 - Phase clinique (R1-début R2))
  • Maîtrise en santé publique (Option #1 - Phase académique (R2-R3) · 21 périodes · École de santé publique de l'Université de Montréal)
  • maladies transmissibles (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • santé environnementale (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • surveillance (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • santé au travail (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • promotion- prévention (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • gestion-planification (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • santé des autochtones (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • stages d'intégration (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • stages à option (cliniques, recherche ou santé publique) (Option #1 - Phase de santé publique (fin du R3, R4 et R5))
  • médecine de famille (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
  • pédiatrie (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
  • médecine du travail (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
  • psychiatrie (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
  • infectiologie (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
  • médecine interne (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
  • cardiologie préventive (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
  • stages à option cliniques (Option #2 - Phase clinique (R1 et début R2))
  • Maîtrise en santé publique (Option #2 - Phase académique (R2 et début R3) · 13 périodes · École de santé publique de l'Université de Montréal)
  • maladies transmissibles (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
  • santé environnementale (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
  • surveillance (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
  • santé au travail (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
  • promotion- prévention (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
  • gestion-planification (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
  • santé des autochtones (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
  • stages d'intégration (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))
  • stages à option (cliniques ou santé publique) (Option #2 - Phase de santé publique (milieu du R3, R4 et R5))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 10 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks.

  • Direction régionale de santé publique de Montréal (Montréal)
  • CHUM (Montréal)
  • hôpital Sacré-Coeur (Montréal)
  • hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal)
  • hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
  • centre mère-enfant Ste-Justine (Montréal)
  • École de santé publique de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal)
  • INSPQ
  • INESSS
  • MSSS

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 10, TELUS at 1; no published record for 8.

Hospital facts

4 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUM

Clinical record
OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
Licensed beds
physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10

hôpital Sacré-Coeur

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur-de-Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 420 · geriatrics 20

hôpital Notre-Dame

Matched to Hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,709 · 2026–2027: 15,697
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 34
Show facts for 1 more sites

hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Montreal.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202300
202400
20252 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20262 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)2 positions open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream25 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamMontreal - Santé publique et médecine préventive25 years3 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Montréal offers a 5-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine residency program with two distinct pedagogical pathways: a classic 2-year academic phase and an accelerated 1-year academic phase.
  • The program focuses on developing comprehensive skills in public health and preventive medicine across clinical, academic, and public health stages.
Research
Research stages during master's phase at École de santé publique, with potential for clinician-researcher program
Training setting
Training occurs primarily in Montreal at University of Montreal affiliated sites including CHUM, Sacré-Coeur Hospital, Notre-Dame Hospital, Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital, Ste-Justine Mother-Child Center, and associated external clinics.
Teaching approach
Develop comprehensive CanMEDS competencies through varied learning experiences, progressive implementation of Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME), and interdisciplinary, intersectoral collaboration.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Reference letters
  • Medical student performance record (DREM)
  • Interview performance
  • Written and oral communication skills
  • Leadership potential
  • Research activities
  • Optional clinical rotations

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Frédérique Brouillard

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Administratrice

Write to the officeresidence.sante-pub.ccsmtl@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Public Health and Preventive Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 26 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35563 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?