Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Public Health and Preventive Medicine

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Montreal, 12 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Optional integrated CCFP family medicine certification pathway within the PHPM residency.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Program-wide trauma-informed approach to medical education and residency structure.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • Thesis-based MSc in Epidemiology built into residency, with tuition waived for residents in the intensive program.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's five-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine program has three phases: clinical training, an MSc in Epidemiology, and public health practice rotations.
  • Residents can choose to complete Family Medicine (CFPC) training during the clinical phase.
  • Practice rotations are based at Montreal Public Health and regional public health units across Quebec, including the Cree Territory and Nunavik.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Public health agency
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
English and French
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-5
  • Concentration year

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Transition to Discipline (two- period)
  • Family Medicine rotations (Phase 1 · 6 months)
  • electives (Phase 1 · 5 months)
  • Surveillance (Senior rotations · 2 periods)
  • Infectious diseases (Senior rotations · 2-3 periods)
  • Indigenous Health (Senior rotations · 2 periods)
  • Environmental health (Senior rotations · 2-3 periods)
  • Occupational health (Senior rotations · 2 periods)
  • Health promotion & disease prevention (Senior rotations · 2-3 periods)
  • Management and planning (Senior rotations · 2-3 periods)
  • Integration (Senior rotations · 6 periods)
  • Electives (Senior rotations · 3-5 periods)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 12 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Montreal Public Health
  • McGill University Health Center (MUHC)
  • School of Population and Global Health (SPGH)
  • GMFU Gatineau (Gatineau · rural or distributed site)
  • Laval (rural or distributed site)
  • Montérégie (rural or distributed site)
  • Abitibi- Témiscamingue (rural or distributed site)
  • Outaouais (rural or distributed site)
  • Cree Territory in James Bay (rural or distributed site)
  • Nunavik region (rural or distributed site)
  • Quebec P ublic Health Institute (INPSQ)
  • Ministry of Health (MSSS)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 12, TELUS at 1; no published record for 10.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

McGill University Health Center (MUHC)

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
Licensed beds
physical health 56
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
Licensed beds
physical health 90
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

Laval

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream25 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream25 years1 date, 8 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McGill University's Public Health and Preventive Medicine (PH&PM) Residency Program trains future public health leaders committed to transforming healthcare through service, social justice, and population health.
  • The program offers a comprehensive 5-year training pathway with flexible options, emphasizing epidemiology, public health practice, and addressing complex societal health challenges.
Research
Master's in Epidemiology with thesis, opportunities for research in various public health domains with over 50 active faculty members.
Training setting
Urban Montreal public health environment with 1.8 million population, diverse training sites including Montreal Public Health, Quebec Regional Public Health Units, and potential international placements.
Teaching approach
A trauma-informed, competency-based approach emphasizing individual growth, social justice, and transformative public health practice through individualized support and interdisciplinary learning.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV/Resume
  • Electives
  • Academic performance
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Administrative Student Affairs Coordinator

Write to the officeresidency.phpm@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Public Health and Preventive Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36008 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?