Montreal - Psychiatry
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 15
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
3 dates, 26 Jan – 5 Feb 2027
Montreal, 16 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Residents receive 1165 hours of psychotherapy training and qualify for the psychotherapist title.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Two-year longitudinal resident clinic, one day per week, during R2 and R3.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Two years of immersive, experiential community activities focused on social determinants of mental health.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year psychiatry residency at Université de Montréal, training across multiple Montreal hospitals and institutes.
- Residents complete 3 required periods of regional rotations during residency.
- From R2, residents run a resident clinic one day per week for two years, and a scholarly project is mandatory.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- French
By year
- PGY-1
- psychiatrie générale3 périodes
- stages optionnels3 périodes
- neurologie (adulte ou pédiatrie)2 périodes
- médecine interne1 période
- médecine d'urgence (adulte ou pédiatrie)1 période
- compétence additionnelle en médecine des toxicomanies1 période
- urgence psychiatrique1 période
- stage de nuit (adulte ou pédiatrie)1 période
- PGY-2
- psychiatrie générale10 périodes
- stages optionnels en psychiatrie/recherche3 périodes
- PGY-3
- pédopsychiatrie5 à 6 périodes
- gérontopsychiatrie5 à 6 périodes
- psychiatrie légale2 à 3 périodes
- PGY-4
- réadaptation3 périodes
- consultation-liaison3 périodes
- psychiatrie des toxicomanies2 périodes
- soins de collaboration2 périodes
- troubles de neurodéveloppement (adulte ou pédo)1 période
- PGY-5
- stages de transition vers la pratique (au choix du résident)13 périodes
Other rotations
- stage en région (3 périodes)
Where you train
Montreal, Quebec: 16 teaching sites.
- Hôpital Notre-Dame (HND) (Montréal)
- Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (IUGM) (Montréal)
- CLSC des Faubourgs (Montréal)
- Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Santa-Cabrini (Montréal)
- Hôpital en santé mentale Albert-Prévost (HSMAP) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (HSC) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Rivière-des-Prairies (HRDP) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Jean-Talon (HJT) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Fleury (Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
Show all 16 sitesShow fewer
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Institut national de psychiatrie légale Philippe-Pinel (INPL-PP) (Montréal)
- Institut de cardiologie de Montréal (ICM) (Montréal)
- Plusieurs établissements en région périphérique et éloignée (rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 16, Epic at 2, TELUS at 1; no published record for 12.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026
Hôpital Notre-Dame (HND)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,709 · 2026–2027: 15,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 34
Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (IUGM)
- Licensed beds
- geriatrics 67
Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 2,256 · 2026–2027: 2,194
- Licensed beds
- physical health 20 · psychiatry 267
Show facts for 10 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Hôpital Santa-Cabrini
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,441 · 2026–2027: 15,611
- Licensed beds
- physical health 305 · geriatrics 18
Hôpital en santé mentale Albert-Prévost (HSMAP)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 1,373 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- psychiatry 89
Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (HSC)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Hôpital Jean-Talon (HJT)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,759 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 131 · psychiatry 30 · geriatrics 25
Hôpital Fleury
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,751 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 115 · geriatrics 10
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Clinical record
- OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Clinical record
- DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Institut national de psychiatrie légale Philippe-Pinel (INPL-PP)
- Licensed beds
- psychiatry 295
Institut de cardiologie de Montréal (ICM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
- Licensed beds
- physical health 153
Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments.
About Montréal
People
1,762,949residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 26 and 29 Jan 2027; 5 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
11 Psychiatry info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 15 | 5 years | 3 dates, 26 Jan – 5 Feb 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 16 | 5 years | 5 dates as the CaRMS page writes them |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université de Montréal Psychiatry Residency Program offers comprehensive, high-quality postdoctoral training with numerous learning opportunities.
- The program is dynamic and flexible, designed to help residents achieve their individual goals.
- Research
- Multiple research engagement options, from required scholarly projects to optional research stages and research trajectories.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical centers in Montreal, including multiple hospital sites across different healthcare networks such as CHUM, CIUSSS, and specialized institutes.
- Teaching approach
- A competency-based approach focused on progressive skill development, regular clinical observation, frequent feedback, and coaching across different stages of medical training.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Academic record
- Clinical evaluations
- Structured recommendation letters
- Community support letter
- Interview performance
- Curriculum vitae
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Lison GagnéDirectrice du programme
- Program office
Technicienne en administration, Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Psychiatry elsewhere
Nearest to Montreal
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?