Skip to content
CdnMD

Montfort - Bilingual - Psychiatry

University of OttawaMontfort, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Tue 3 Nov 2026,6:00–8:00 pm EST

Interviews

12 dates, 18 Jan – 5 Feb 2027virtual

Montfort, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • French-language psychiatry training at Montfort, which presents itself as Ontario's only academic hospital training in French.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Montfort psychiatry stops taking emergency department consults from 22:00.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • About a 1:1 faculty-to-resident ratio in Montfort's psychiatry department.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This 5-year University of Ottawa psychiatry stream places residents at Hôpital Montfort and The Ottawa Hospital.
  • Rotations at Montfort are in French, those at partner sites are typically in English, and the francophone stream accepts three new residents per year.
  • All residents complete a mandatory research project with protected time, and there is no mandatory rural rotation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Francophone minority communities
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
English and French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • psychiatrie (Progression vers la discipline · 2 stages)
  • gériatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • médecine interne (unité d'enseignement clinique - UEC) (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • médecine familiale (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • urgence (adulte et pédiatrique (CHEO)) (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • soins palliatifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • neurologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • endocrinologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • services d'urgence psychiatrique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • toximanie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • trouble du développement intellectuel/déficience intellectuelle (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • psychiatrie en milieu de ressources limitées (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Psychiatrie générale de l’adulte en milieu hospitalier (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline/Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 blocs · Civic, Général, Montfort et ROH)
  • Psychiatrie de l’enfant et de l’adolescent (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline/Maîtrise de la discipline · 5 blocs · CHEO)
  • Psychiatrie générale de l’adulte en consultation externe (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline/Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 blocs · Civic, Général et Montfort)
  • Gérontopsychiatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline/Maîtrise de la discipline · 5 blocs · ROH et Montfort)
  • Maladie mentale grave et persistante (Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 blocs · ROH, Montfort et Général)
  • Psychiatrie de consultation-liaison (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 blocs · Civic, Général et Montfort)
  • Soins partagés (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 blocs · Civic, Général, QCH et Montfort)
  • Psychothérapie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 8 mois · Tous les sites d’enseignement)
  • stages facultatifs (Transition vers la pratique · 13 blocs)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montfort, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.

  • Hôpital Montfort (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Civic (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Général (Ottawa)
  • Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • Hôpital Royal d'Ottawa (Ottawa)
  • QCH (Ottawa)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 6; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Civic, Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Général.

Hôpital Montfort

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1, 2, 4 and 5 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 years12 dates, 18 Jan – 5 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
DCM streamMontfort - Psychiatrie45 years13 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Ottawa's Psychiatry Department offers a comprehensive 5-year bilingual residency program with a strong focus on academic excellence and diverse clinical training.
  • Residents benefit from an exceptional teaching faculty, extensive subspecialty exposure, and a supportive learning environment that prepares them for a broad and diverse psychiatric practice.
Research
Protected time for research, mandatory research project, annual Research Day presentation
Training setting
A mix of academic community and tertiary care settings across multiple hospitals in Ottawa, including Montfort Hospital, Ottawa Hospital (Civic and General Campuses), CHEO, and Royal Ottawa Hospital.
Teaching approach
A competency-based medical education approach focusing on progressive skill development, with structured learning modules tailored to each residency year and emphasizing both psychological and biological aspects of psychiatry.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical school transcripts
  • CV
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Leadership skills
  • Communication skills
  • Professional conduct

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Sephora Tang

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to Montfort - Bilingual

  • Montreal - Psychiatry, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal, QC · 166 km

    15 positions · Regular

  • Montreal, QC · 166 km

    10 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Sherbrooke - PsychiatryUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke, QC · 297 km

    12 positions · Regular, Regular (NRQ) RoS

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 14 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36290 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?