Montreal - Orthopedic Surgery
Université de MontréalMontreal, Quebec
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 51
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Regular (NRQ) RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 22 Jan 2027
Montreal, 3 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Residents may complete a master's or PhD in parallel with their orthopedic residency.
From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page
- The Université de Montréal's Édouard-Samson orthopedic surgery program is a five-year French-language residency.
- Training takes place mainly at CHU Sainte-Justine and the East and North Island of Montreal CIUSSS sites.
- Residents must complete at least one research project between R2 and R4, and community-setting rotations are mandatory.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Training language
- French
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Boot-Camp de chirurgie orthopédique (2 premières années · 1 période)
- Boot-Camp des fondements chirurgicaux (2 premières années · 1 période)
- prise en charge initiale en traumatologie (2 premières années · 2 périodes)
- chirurgie orthopédique pédiatrique (2 premières années · 5 périodes)
- chirurgie vasculaire (2 premières années · 1 période)
- chirurgie orthopédique - générale - (2 premières années · 4 périodes)
- stage de nuit / consultations en chirurgie (2 premières années · 1 période)
- soins intensifs chez l'adulte (2 premières années · 1 période)
- chirurgie orthopédique traumatique (2 premières années · 3 périodes)
- chirurgie orthopédique - arthroplastie - (2 premières années · 3 périodes)
- chirurgie plastique (2 premières années · 1 période)
- stage de nuit / soins intensifs chirurgicaux (2 premières années · 1 période)
- médecine du sport (2 premières années · 2 périodes)
- Orthopédie - Arthroplastie (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Reconstruction membres inférieurs (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Reconstruction membres supérieurs (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Orthopédie pédiatrique (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Chirurgie du rachis (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Médecine du sport (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Oncologie orthopédique (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Pied et cheville (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Main et poignet (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Milieux communautaires (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Recherche (3 dernières années)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Boot-Camp de chirurgie orthopédique (2 premières années · 1 période)
- Boot-Camp des fondements chirurgicaux (2 premières années · 1 période)
- prise en charge initiale en traumatologie (2 premières années · 2 périodes)
- chirurgie orthopédique pédiatrique (2 premières années · 5 périodes)
- chirurgie vasculaire (2 premières années · 1 période)
- chirurgie orthopédique - générale - (2 premières années · 2 périodes)
- stage de nuit / consultations en chirurgie (2 premières années · 1 période)
- soins intensifs chez l'adulte (2 premières années · 1 période)
- chirurgie orthopédique traumatique (2 premières années · 3 périodes)
- chirurgie orthopédique - arthroplastie - (2 premières années · 5 périodes)
- chirurgie plastique (2 premières années · 1 période)
- stage de nuit / soins intensifs chirurgicaux (2 premières années · 1 période)
- médecine du sport (2 premières années · 2 périodes)
- Orthopédie - Arthroplastie (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Reconstruction membres inférieurs (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Reconstruction membres supérieurs (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Orthopédie pédiatrique (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Chirurgie du rachis (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Médecine du sport (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Oncologie orthopédique (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Pied et cheville (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Main et poignet (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Milieux communautaires (3 dernières années)
- Orthopédie - Recherche (3 dernières années)
Where you train
Montreal, Quebec: 3 teaching sites.
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- CIUSSS-de-l'Est-de-l'Île-de-Montréal (Montréal)
- CIUSSS-du-Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal (Montréal)
Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 3; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Clinical record
- DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
About Montréal
People
1,762,949residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service, Regular stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Regular (NRQ) RoS stream
- Required · 5 years
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house call · night float
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 5 | 5 years | 1 date, 22 Jan 2027 |
|
| Regular (NRQ) RoS stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 22 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream, CaRMS program 29725 | 4 | 5 years | 1 date as the CaRMS page writes it |
| Regular stream, CaRMS program 31008 | 1 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université de Montréal Orthopedic Surgery Program is renowned for its comprehensive clinical exposure across all subspecialties, high surgical volume, and exceptional teaching quality.
- The program is distinguished by its significant research activities and offers residents opportunities to pursue advanced research degrees alongside their specialist training.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete at least one research project between R2-R4, with opportunities to pursue Master's or PhD degrees during residency.
- Training setting
- Residency training occurs primarily across three sites: CHU Sainte-Justine, CIUSSS-de-l'Est-de-l'Île-de-Montréal, and CIUSSS-du-Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal, offering diverse clinical experiences.
- Teaching approach
- The program emphasizes comprehensive CanMEDS role training, focusing on developing competent orthopedic surgeons with strong clinical skills, leadership abilities, and a commitment to continuous learning and patient care.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Academic performance
- Clinical rotations evaluations
- Research contributions
- Interview performance
- Leadership potential
- Communication skills
- Professionalism
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Olivier ChémalyDirecteur de Programme d'Orthopédie Édouard-Samson
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere
Nearest to Montreal
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?