Skip to content
CdnMD

Sherbrooke - Orthopedic Surgery

Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 25 Jan 2027virtual

Sherbrooke, 8 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Daily 7:15 a.m. basic and clinical science lectures for residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Monthly virtual orthopedic oncology course shared with the other Quebec universities.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year orthopedic surgery residency based mainly at Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS in Sherbrooke, which operates on two sites.
  • Residents complete 5 periods of oncology and pediatrics in Montreal and 3 periods of orthopedics in Chicoutimi during second year.
  • Residents have one research period and must complete a prospective research project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • chirurgie orthopédique13 périodes
PGY-2
  • orthopédieChicoutimi3 périodes

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • soins intensifs
  • chirurgie plastique
  • chirurgie vasculaire
  • pédiatrie (trois mois · l’Hôpital Shriners et l’Hôpital Ste-Justine)
  • oncologie (deux mois · l’Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont ou à l'Hôpital Général de Montréal)
  • orthopédie (fondements chirurgicaux · quinze périodes)
  • recherche (fondements chirurgicaux · une période)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sherbrooke, Quebec: 8 teaching sites.

  • Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS
  • Hôpital Fleurimont
  • Hôtel-Dieu
  • Hôpital Shriners (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Ste-Justine (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
  • Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
  • Santé Québec Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean-Universitaire (Chicoutimi) (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: ARIANE at 3 of 8, DCi-ChartMaxx at 1, TELUS at 1; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
DCI ARIANE (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS, Hôpital Fleurimont, Hôtel-Dieu.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20
CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
Licensed beds
physical health 216 · psychiatry 105

Hôpital Fleurimont

Matched to CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20

Hôpital Shriners

Matched to Hôpital Shriners pour Enfants (québec) (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 22
Show facts for 3 more sites

Hôpital Ste-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66

Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26

Hôpital Général de Montréal

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Sherbrooke

  • People

    172,950residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sherbrooke

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.5 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sherbrooke (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream45 years1 date, 25 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamSherbrooke - Chirurgie orthopédique45 years1 date as the CaRMS page writes it
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Sherbrooke Orthopedic Residency Program (PROS) has been training orthopedic surgeons for over 25 years, producing more than 80 orthopedists.
  • The program is supported by 13 full-time professors and 3 clinical teaching professors, offering comprehensive training across multiple orthopedic subspecialties.
Research
Robust research program with opportunities in clinical and fundamental research, biomechanics, biomaterials, and technological development.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at the CIUSSS de l'Estrie - CHUS on two hospital sites (Fleurimont and Hôtel-Dieu), with additional rotations in Montreal and Chicoutimi.
Teaching approach
Closely mentoring residents in both clinical and academic training, with a focus on comprehensive skill development, academic learning, and progressive independence.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Clerkship notes and evaluations (30%)
  • Structured letters of recommendation (8%)
  • Motivation letter (5%)
  • Research portfolio (5%)
  • Special file elements (2%)
  • Interview (50%)

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Philippe Hugo Champagne

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Secrétaire du programme

Write to the officeProg.Orthopedie-Med@USherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Sherbrooke

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35357 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?