Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Dermatology

Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 21 Jan 2027virtual

Montreal, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Required tropical diseases rotation and six pediatric dermatology rotations during core training.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents must submit two peer-reviewed publications during residency.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Université de Montréal's dermatology residency is a 5-year French-language program.
  • Training takes place at CHUM, HMR, CHU Sainte-Justine and Hôpital Sacré-Coeur in Montréal, and includes a regional dermatology rotation.
  • Residents must submit two peer-reviewed publications and complete a short clinical or educational research project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • dermatologie (Progression vers la discipline)
  • endocrinologie (Progression vers la discipline)
  • gastroentérologie (Progression vers la discipline)
  • dermatologie clinique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2)
  • dermatologie hospitalière (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • rhumatologie adulte (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • immuno-rhumatologie pédiatrique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • unité d’enseignement clinique en médecine interne (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2)
  • urgence pédiatrique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2)
  • dermatopathologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • urgence/stage de nuit (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • plastie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • immuno-allergie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • microbiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • médecine vasculaire (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
  • dermatologie en région (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
  • dermatologie clinique (Maîtrise de la discipline · sites variés)
  • dermatologie hospitalière (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • oncologie médicale (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
  • dermatologie esthétique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
  • dermatologie pédiatrique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 6)
  • Chirurgie de Mohs (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2)
  • dermatopathologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2)
  • maladies tropicales (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
  • stages à option (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 ou 4)
  • clinique longitudinale (Transition vers la pratique)
  • dermatologie hospitalière (rôle senior) (Transition vers la pratique)
  • dermatologie clinique (Transition vers la pratique)
  • programme d'auto-évaluation/amélioration continue (Transition vers la pratique)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 4 teaching sites.

  • CHUM (Montréal)
  • HMR (Pavillon Rosemont) (Montréal)
  • CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
  • HSCM (Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal) (Montréal)

Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 4, Epic at 1, TELUS at 1; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUM

Clinical record
OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
Licensed beds
physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10

HMR (Pavillon Rosemont)

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26

CHU Sainte-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Show facts for 1 more sites

HSCM (Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal)

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur-de-Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 420 · geriatrics 20

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

3 Dermatology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream45 years1 date, 21 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamMontreal - Dermatologie45 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Montréal offers a comprehensive 5-year Dermatology residency program that provides extensive training across medical, surgical, and pediatric dermatology.
  • The program emphasizes a competency-based approach and offers diverse clinical experiences across multiple specialized clinics in Montreal.
Research
Supports clinician-researcher program, requires publication submissions and conference presentations.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Montreal, including multiple hospital sites with diverse specialized dermatology clinics.
Teaching approach
A progressive, competency-based approach divided into four stages: progression towards discipline, foundational acquisition, discipline mastery, and transition to practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (DREM)
  • Reference Letters
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Interview Performance
  • Academic Achievements
  • Research Activities
  • Leadership Experiences

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Secrétaire à l'enseignement - programme de dermatologie

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Dermatology elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal · 0 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Sherbrooke - DermatologyUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 131 km

    2 positions · Regular

  • Québec - DermatologyUniversité Laval

    Québec · 233 km

    4 positions · Regular

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 25 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36305 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?