Skip to content
CdnMD

Calgary - Neurology - Pediatric

University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Calgary, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Senior residents (PGY3-PGY5) run their own longitudinal clinic with one assigned faculty supervisor.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Faculty-to-resident ratio better than 1:1.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Support to attend one national or international meeting every year, starting in PGY-1.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This five-year Royal College-accredited Pediatric Neurology residency at the University of Calgary is based primarily at Alberta Children's Hospital.
  • Adult neurology rotations take place at Foothills Medical Centre and South Health Campus, and all required experiences are in Calgary.
  • Residents prepare a research proposal during a PGY-1 research block, and from PGY-3 to PGY-5 run their own supervised longitudinal clinic.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Pediatric Neurology (Transition to Discipline)
  • General Pediatric Inpatient Service (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Neonatal Intensive Care (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Cardiology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Medical Genetics (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • PICU (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Mental Health (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Infectious Disease (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Research/Critical Appraisal (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Pediatric Oncology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • adult neurology (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • pediatric neurology (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • adult neurology (Core of Discipline · three blocks)
  • clinical pediatric neurology (Core of Discipline · twelve blocks)
  • pediatric physical medicine and rehabilitation (Core of Discipline)
  • metabolics (Core of Discipline)
  • pediatric palliative care (Core of Discipline)
  • pediatric neurosurgery (Core of Discipline)
  • Electroencephalography (EEG) (Core of Discipline)
  • Electromyography (EMG) (Core of Discipline)
  • pediatric neuroradiology (Core of Discipline)
  • pediatric neurology (Transition to Practice · six blocks)
  • electives (Transition to Practice · six blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Calgary, Alberta: 7 teaching sites.

  • Alberta Children's Hospital
  • Foothills Medical Centre
  • South Health Campus
  • Peter Lougheed Centre
  • Rockyview General Hospital
  • Alberta Neurologic Centre
  • Child Development Centre

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 7; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Alberta Children's Hospital, Foothills Medical Centre, South Health Campus, Peter Lougheed Centre, Rockyview General Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Calgary

  • People

    1,306,784residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Calgary

  • Housing

    4.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Calgary, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Calgary (Airport), 9.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Calgary (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

3 Neurology - Pediatric info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamPediatric - Neurology15 years1 date, 23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Pediatric Neurology Residency Training Program at the Alberta Children's Hospital and University of Calgary offers a diverse and exciting educational experience with a strong commitment to clinical care, teaching, and research.
  • The program provides residents with exposure to a wide variety of neurological disorders through outpatient clinics and inpatient services, with an excellent faculty-to-resident ratio.
Research
Residents are required to prepare a research proposal during their PGY-1 and may request additional research blocks during PGY3-5 in consultation with their research supervisor.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center with multiple hospital sites in Calgary, including Alberta Children's Hospital, Foothills Medical Centre, and other affiliated hospitals. Training occurs in diverse clinical settings including inpatient services, outpatient clinics, and specialized neurology units.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) approach focusing on progressive independence, frequent formative assessments, and targeted learning outcomes across different training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Colleen Curtis

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Neurology - Pediatric elsewhere

Nearest to Calgary

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36189 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?